What is this piston telling you?

Related:
Create New Tag

12/30/2017 3:36 AM

It's out of a CR500, 168 main, 55 pilot & the clip is on the fourth clip down. Normally run at 40:1 but did run it on 32:1. What does the carbon build up mean?

Photo

|

12/30/2017 3:42 AM

"Hi. I'm a piston."

|

12/30/2017 4:00 AM

I am no expert but looks like poor quality fuel. Maybe also rich.

|

12/30/2017 4:16 AM

I’m no expert here, but even burn pattern and rich jetting.

|

12/30/2017 4:25 AM

Nota antes expert. post picture of the Sideshow and underside

|

12/30/2017 4:39 AM

It means you need to need to run that beast WFO more often to burn more of the fuel/oil mix in the combustion chamber.

If you're a normal human being running a 500 WFO probably ain't gonna happen.

|

12/30/2017 4:43 AM

ratonmacias wrote:

Nota antes expert. post picture of the Sideshow and underside

Photo

Photo

|

12/30/2017 4:43 AM
Edited Date/Time: 12/30/2017 4:48 AM

Synthetic or Dino premix? A bit rich but ok for a 500 with all the low rpm lugging around. Run a good synthetic oil at the recommended ratio. You could mess with the jetting and clean up the bottom end but if it's not spooging the exhaust or sluggish I would let it rip, better a bit rich on the bottom than lean on top and end up possibly locking her up on a WFO situation. How many hrs on that piston, looks a bit overdue.

|

12/30/2017 4:53 AM

markit wrote:

Synthetic or Dino premix? A bit rich but ok for a 500 with all the low rpm lugging around. Run a good synthetic oil at the recommended ratio. You could mess with the jetting and clean up the bottom end but if it's not spooging the exhaust or sluggish I would let it rip, better a bit rich on the bottom than lean on top and end up possibly locking her up on a WFO situation. How many hrs on that piston, looks a bit overdue.

Running Rock Oil Synthesis 2. Probably a good 75 hrs.

|

12/30/2017 5:08 AM