Webb’s pass on Tomac = Penalised

Related:
Create New Tag

3/16/2019 6:51 PM

Webb’s pass on Tomac.
He has gone on the inside of a tough block and passed Tomac.
Was crazy lucky and a good pass.
However, I see Kawasaki contesting the pass due to passing a rider when he has gone off track.
Webb was on the inside of a rough block and techniqualy off track.

Thoughts on if he will be penalised or not?

|

3/16/2019 6:54 PM

He probably will be. Went off course and gained an advantage.

|

3/16/2019 6:54 PM

Well he cut the corner and made the pass, first thing I thought was... 'you can't do that' but clearly Ricky and Ralph didn't see it that way.

|

3/16/2019 6:54 PM

It wasn’t planned, and there was no post there.....

|

Washed up moto and enduro weekend warrior.

3/16/2019 6:55 PM

No Penalty.

|

3/16/2019 6:55 PM

He made the pass after he got back on the track.

|

3/16/2019 6:55 PM

Can’t see it. Wasn’t intentional by Webb at all. Smart move on Tomac’s part to be aware of his surroundings.

|

3/16/2019 6:56 PM

No, complete accident

|

3/16/2019 6:56 PM

Should add a question mark after penalised.

|

"Sorry Goose, but it's time to buzz the tower."

3/16/2019 6:56 PM

should be, should have readdressed it as Eli dropped a massive anchor he wouldn't have lost much.

|

3/16/2019 6:56 PM

Dock him 5 seconds and it doesn’t make a difference because tomac came unraveled yet again...

|

3/16/2019 6:56 PM

Is the rule “gain a position” or “gain an advantage”?

|

3/16/2019 6:56 PM

I thought it was questionable but i dont know that its gonna be flagged. The way it happened was out of webbs control for the most part.

|

3/16/2019 6:56 PM

rehan53 wrote:

He made the pass after he got back on the track.

That doesn't matter. He still cut the track and gained an advantage in order to make the pass.

He SHOULD be penalized. We'll see if he is or not.

|

3/16/2019 6:57 PM

Should have given the spot back 100%

|

3/16/2019 6:57 PM
Edited Date/Time: 3/16/2019 7:00 PM

MxKing809 wrote:

It wasn’t planned, and there was no post there.....

This is where I have beef with the AMA.. When this type of issue occurs, it seems their MO is to say "Well, the rider was out of control so he couldn't stay on the track, so we are letting it go."

IMO, if a rider screws up and goes off the track, it's THEIR fault, and they should be penalized. Just because he wasn't "trying" to cut the track doesn't make it OK.

But the AMA is as bad as the NHL Department of Players safety. Who the hell knows what their next ruling will be.

|

***************************************************************

3/16/2019 6:58 PM

I always thought, if your on the inside of a tough block. Your off track.
If your off track, you have to enter the track in the same position you where when you went off track.
So now, where does this sit with AMA.
I see Tomac kicking up a huge stink and contesting the pass.

|

3/16/2019 6:58 PM

rongi#401 wrote:

No, complete accident

If he accidentally cut half the track he'd still get penalized for it. Intent doesn't matter.

|

3/16/2019 6:58 PM

He cross rutted, wasn’t intentional

|

3/16/2019 6:58 PM

10 second dock wouldn’t even change anything and i think that’s more than fair

|

3/16/2019 6:58 PM

deanwhite51 wrote:

I always thought, if your on the inside of a tough block. Your off track.
If your off track, you have to enter the track in the same position you where when you went off track.
So now, where does this sit with AMA.
I see Tomac kicking up a huge stink and contesting the pass.

It would be a seconds penalty not position.. and tomac came unraveled so there’s that

|

3/16/2019 6:59 PM
Edited Date/Time: 3/16/2019 7:02 PM

kb228 wrote:

I thought it was questionable but i dont know that its gonna be flagged. The way it happened was out of webbs control for the most part.

"Out of webbs control"? Who's riding Webb's bike?

|

***************************************************************

3/16/2019 7:00 PM

Lets ask Marv, he'll know.

|

THERE IS NO SECOND MOTO IN LIFE!

3/16/2019 7:00 PM

Ralph and Ricky didn't seem to care. But this isn't the last we've heard of it. Webb 100% used it to his advantage, no question in my mind about that.

|

I used to think I was indecisive, but now I'm not too sure.

3/16/2019 7:00 PM

Clearly wasn’t intentional, but he did gain an advantage. Wasn’t a situation where he could hold up and re-enter in the same position given the turn. This one’s a tough call. At most maybe 1 position penalty.

|

I'm goin' off the rails on a crazy train

3/16/2019 7:00 PM

rehan53 wrote:

He made the pass after he got back on the track.

NateDawg wrote:

That doesn't matter. He still cut the track and gained an advantage in order to make the pass.

He SHOULD be penalized. We'll see if he is or not.

You can dock him for 10x the time he gained and he still beats Tomac.

|

3/16/2019 7:01 PM

He didn't come back on to the track in a better position. No foul.

|

3/16/2019 7:02 PM

Accident or not.
How does one prove it was an accident?

If you become “out of control “ on the last lap and cut across the track and go on in front of the leader.
Is that all okay due to it being an accident?

|

3/16/2019 7:03 PM
Edited Date/Time: 3/16/2019 7:05 PM

deanwhite51 wrote:

Accident or not.
How does one prove it was an accident?

If you become “out of control “ on the last lap and cut across the track and go on in front of the leader.
Is that all okay due to it being an accident?

yes, that appear to be the logic here on vital...

Tomac clearly checked up thinking he was going to get cleaned out...

|

3/16/2019 7:04 PM

What if you accidentally do a Windham transfer and gain half a lap?

|