WP A kit vs KYB spring conversion for AER?

Related:
Create New Tag

9/20/2020 2:10 PM

I've got a bike coming that I'll be posting a build thread on later, but the bike is going to be a fun one. I'll save the details for later.
Initially it was supposed to come with A kit suspension on it but that deal fell through and stock suspension has been put back on the bike. Now I'm looking into the KYB conversion and that's about $2k and nice used cone valve forks aren't much more at all.
I haven't ridden either, so I don't know the difference. I do own a set of very well setup AER and they are pretty good, but I think I'd still refer a spring fork.
So for those in the know, is it worth it to spend the extra money on the A kit setup or is the KYB conversion going to work as well for me?
Keep in mind, I'm a Vet C rider and don't really race anymore. My kid will also be riding the bike here and there as he transitions off of 85s. I honestly don't need A kit suspension, but this bike is definitely worthy of having them.

|

9/20/2020 3:01 PM
Edited Date/Time: 9/20/2020 3:06 PM

I’ve ridden ‘20 350s with both KYB dual spring conversion (the bike that sold me on a 350), and with AER come valves (mine). I was very impressed with the suspension on the initial one I tried out, even though it was valved and sprung for someone heavier and faster than I. I talked to Brandon at Solid Performance after putting down the deposit for my bike from them, and he went over the pros and cons of different setups. Very knowledgeable people over there. You can also do cone valve adaptation setups to the stock forks.