Vet Needs advice on a Brand new 2 Stroke 250

Hower131
Hey Vital.

Need some help with choosing.
About me: 30 years old, elite bicycle racer and use to race in my younger years. 80's Supermini, School Boy and C-B-Caught running money races and bumped to A class racer until I was 20 and Quit.

2 years ago I bought a ktm EXC-F. I'm ready to move on because I'm basically a professional practice rider and have no need for that bike anymore with my desired use.

I'm between a 2017 KTM 250sx, 150sx and a 2017 YZ250x. Leaning KTM. I'm not looking at used bikes at all as I don't have any interest in buying a possible issue or having something occur because I didn't know it existed...so no need to weigh in on that option.

My issue is that I read on other posts that people say pick the KTM hands down. but then I see people gripe about the carb, the reeds being stuck open, the Clutch slave leaking(have this issue on my ktm), air forks sticking in cold weather.
I also really like that KTM is developing 2 strokes still and the price really isn't that much more than a YZ250X thats over a decade old.

The YZ is the old war horse and is trusty as ever, but just not sure if I want to support Yamaha for only kinda updating the YZ.

Am I going to be putting 7K into a KTM only to be pissed off every couple weeks with a new issue?
Weigh in Please. I feel I've read alot of the posts that are out there and no one has given a "6 month" update on their 17 KTM.

Thanks everyone
|
kzizok
Fantasy
2068th
3/17/2017 3:21pm
Thank you for your service to the US.

The Shop

fins227
3/17/2017 3:22pm
I went from 2013 ktm 300 to a 2015 yz250, and have been very happy with the decision. Others will say that the Yamaha is old tech. I prefer a refined motorcycle.
philG
3/17/2017 4:06pm
TM 300 is awesome, but in the US i would go with the Husky. 300 is great , its not like a fast 250, its like a slow 500, nice to ride , without being frantic.
tek14
3/17/2017 4:13pm