Tracks near Boise for beginner

doodle
My first post, hope it’s in the right place.

I’m new to the Boise area and MX, but not motorcycles. I did just get a 2020 YZ250X and am hoping to get into some MX riding near Boise. Looking for tips on the best place to break into it in the area and general tips for getting started. Maybe some references for groups to join, general useful info will be much appreciated along with specifics for jetting, suspension, bike setup etc. I’m 30 yrs old, 5’10, 180 lbs. decent enough shape...I expect the suspension to be just about right for my weight/ability. Maybe harsh at first but I expect that I’ll grow into it as my skill gets better.

Some personal background for reference:
I’ve done 30k+ miles on street bikes (FJ-09, R6, CBR600) and some 1.5k miles of desert/woods riding on a KTM 250 XC-W in the Reno/Tahoe area. I got rid of the K to get the FJ09, but that was a mistake and I’m stoked to be back on dirt this year. I have all the safety gear and have watched some YouTube vids on technique, body positioning, etc, all easier said than done of course, but I feel like (hope) the combination of my street riding, trail/desert riding, and dh mtb will help me pick things up fast.

Thanks for any advice in advance, and happy new year!
|
Broseph
12/29/2019 7:54am
doodle wrote:
My first post, hope it’s in the right place. I’m new to the Boise area and MX, but not motorcycles. I did just get a 2020...