The AMA/FIM/Gallagher Sucks Again

Related:
Create New Tag

3/23/2019 10:32 PM

20 minutes after the incident and no decision was announced. TV audience has no idea who won the race.

TV Cameras catch Gallagher talking to Kehoe before a decision is announced.

Yet, he was able to penalize the poor guy in the LCQ as he came off the track after a 5 minute moto.

This is not a good look for a sanctioning body.

|

You kids get off my lawn!

2013 KTM450 Factory Edition
Projects......lots of projects!

3/23/2019 10:33 PM

In before the Big Chief clips you! RIP my friend.

|

Only 2 things that money can't buy, thats true love and homegrown tomatoes.

3/23/2019 10:35 PM

Maybe he wants to give the news directly to the team/racer before giving it to the broadcast team. It’d be pretty unprofessional for the racer to find out from the reporter what his official penalty is.

|

3/23/2019 10:38 PM

Gallagher has ruined this race. How can they end the broadcast without declaring the winner?

Someone posted the rules on twitter. The penalty is the loss of 2 positions in the final race results plus 2 additional points. However, the rules official has the ability to override give a warning if no positions were gained or if it was determined to have been an accident.

So Gallagher has to talk to both team managers before he can make a decision? This is insubordination. Make a decision.

As the OP mentioned, he didn’t have too much trouble taking a kid out of the main event after the 250lcq... stop letting the factories influence the outcome, John! Be a man and do your job.

|

3/23/2019 10:39 PM

chad_111 wrote:

Maybe he wants to give the news directly to the team/racer before giving it to the broadcast team. It’d be pretty unprofessional for the racer to find out from the reporter what his official penalty is.

Well somebody had to tip off Ricky in the booth. RC has missed passes live on TV, so there's no way he was thinking about Marv's pass from beginning of the race. Then suddenly at the end comes up with a "oh he's going to be docked points"

|

3/23/2019 10:39 PM

chad_111 wrote:

Maybe he wants to give the news directly to the team/racer before giving it to the broadcast team. It’d be pretty unprofessional for the racer to find out from the reporter what his official penalty is.

You mean like being asked on the podium by the trackside reporter to review the film on live camera and saying that's the first you've heard of it?

Nah, that would never happen.

After all, this is a professional sport with black and white rules.

|

You kids get off my lawn!

2013 KTM450 Factory Edition
Projects......lots of projects!

3/23/2019 10:40 PM

Rant?

|

JS7 is the most entertaining rider since Hannah, my first hero,. even living in the frozen north.
Dirt biking from 11 to late 50’s, loves wood riding on the old 525.

3/23/2019 10:42 PM

I just can’t comprehend how it takes so long for such a simple situation.

|

3/23/2019 10:44 PM

They hang em high in Texas, no need for a judge...

|

3/23/2019 10:44 PM

I wanna think they're just waiting to finish press conference and get riders back to truck or hotel to enforce the rule-book, that or KTM has it deep in AMA's throat. The penalty sucks but live by sword ... They wasted no time with JMart incident last year. Please AMA don't be so blatantly obvious that you're only making things worst. We've enough with shitty tracks and oversize bikes.

|

3/23/2019 10:46 PM

What are the point standing now?

|

3/23/2019 10:47 PM

Being an ama referee in the past (on an amateur level), that guy makes refs look like shit. Worse then a crappy ump. There's a book with the rules in it. Follow it. Simple.

The lcq was tricky solely due to the little acceleration heading off track, but I didn't see a gain or an advantage. The moment he completely let off and looked over to verify a clean re entry point would appear to me as if rules were followed.

Marv.. so simple a 6 year old could have made the determination before the end of the broadcast.

|

3/23/2019 10:52 PM

Meister wrote:

Being an ama referee in the past (on an amateur level), that guy makes refs look like shit. Worse then a crappy ump. There's a book with the rules in it. Follow it. Simple.

The lcq was tricky solely due to the little acceleration heading off track, but I didn't see a gain or an advantage. The moment he completely let off and looked over to verify a clean re entry point would appear to me as if rules were followed.

Marv.. so simple a 6 year old could have made the determination before the end of the broadcast.

100% agree.

The LCQ issue is a judgement call.

Marv's brain fart is not.

If you can make a decision on the LCQ before the end of the race, the call on Marv should have been waiting for him at the finish line.

|

You kids get off my lawn!

2013 KTM450 Factory Edition
Projects......lots of projects!

3/23/2019 10:54 PM

In an nfl game are we going to wait hours to announce the winner? No the refs are going to challenge it and we will know the winner in a few minutes.. same with any other sport. Smh

|

3/23/2019 10:54 PM

DavetheVintageGuy wrote:

20 minutes after the incident and no decision was announced. TV audience has no idea who won the race.

TV Cameras catch Gallagher talking to Kehoe before a decision is announced.

Yet, he was able to penalize the poor guy in the LCQ as he came off the track after a 5 minute moto.

This is not a good look for a sanctioning body.

2 weeks from now they will make a decision but will say the orange bike will be docked 2 positions and the red and green bike move up one

|

3/23/2019 10:56 PM

16 round championship. Seattle never happened I guess

|

3/23/2019 10:57 PM

But he docks the one guy from Europe in the 250 lcq immediately without a review. Ok.

|

3/23/2019 10:57 PM

DavetheVintageGuy wrote:

20 minutes after the incident and no decision was announced. TV audience has no idea who won the race.

TV Cameras catch Gallagher talking to Kehoe before a decision is announced.

Yet, he was able to penalize the poor guy in the LCQ as he came off the track after a 5 minute moto.

This is not a good look for a sanctioning body.

Marv won. Penalty is only points.

|

3/23/2019 10:58 PM

What happened to the team of race stewards who discuss these issues right away?

|

3/23/2019 10:59 PM

gnarwhip wrote:

But he docks the one guy from Europe in the 250 lcq immediately without a review. Ok.

Privateer.

They don't count...or write checks to the AMA every year as an "Industry Member"

His only hope was if he had been riding a Harley.

|

You kids get off my lawn!

2013 KTM450 Factory Edition
Projects......lots of projects!

3/23/2019 11:00 PM
Edited Date/Time: 3/23/2019 11:01 PM

Marv's penalty is open-and-shut.

It is clearly spelled out in both the written offense and the respective penalty in the book. No jumping. 2Position+2Points. It is insanely simple, and there is not even any grey area to consider. Even Marv watching on podium made it clear he knew he had violated the book.

5 sec decision. If you are in a leadership position, be a leader

|

3/23/2019 11:02 PM

Rogers involved that’s why there’s a delay. He ALWAYS gets his way.

|

Officially the Slowest Team Green Support Rider in History 5 years running

85,87,88 KX125
03.05 KX250
04 KX250F
06,07,08,09,10,11,12,13 KX450
05 KLX110
07 ZX6
09 Monster ZX6
04 Aprilia RS Fiddy

3/23/2019 11:04 PM

DavetheVintageGuy wrote:

100% agree.

The LCQ issue is a judgement call.

Marv's brain fart is not.

If you can make a decision on the LCQ before the end of the race, the call on Marv should have been waiting for him at the finish line.

This ^^^

|

3/23/2019 11:05 PM
Edited Date/Time: 3/23/2019 11:05 PM

Texas Built wrote:

Marv won. Penalty is only points.

After reading the rules again I think it is saying it’s 2 positions with the respective points and purse if a position wasn’t gained. It’s the positions gained plus an additional 2 if there were gains. So, 2 spots is the base penalty in other words.

|

3/23/2019 11:05 PM

All riders might as well jump on red cross from now on if this is how AMA handle the matter !

|

3/23/2019 11:06 PM
Edited Date/Time: 3/23/2019 11:09 PM

DavetheVintageGuy wrote:

20 minutes after the incident and no decision was announced. TV audience has no idea who won the race.

TV Cameras catch Gallagher talking to Kehoe before a decision is announced.

Yet, he was able to penalize the poor guy in the LCQ as he came off the track after a 5 minute moto.

This is not a good look for a sanctioning body.

Texas Built wrote:

Marv won. Penalty is only points.

731chopper wrote:

After reading the rules again I think it is saying it’s 2 positions with the respective points and purse if a position wasn’t gained. It’s the positions gained plus an additional 2 if there were gains. So, 2 spots is the base penalty in other words.

If that's what is holding them up, we are a shitty sport.

It might be the only single rule in the rulebook put in place for rider safety at all expense of possible entertainment advantage.

Make a decision. The fine/punishment is the secondary consideration.

|

3/23/2019 11:08 PM

Dirty Points wrote:

If that's what is holding them up, we are a shitty sport.

It might be the only single rule in the rulebook put in place for rider safety at all expense of possible entertainment advantage.

Make a decision. The fine/punishment is the secondary consideration.

When it comes to officiating, we certainly are.

|

3/23/2019 11:09 PM

DavetheVintageGuy wrote:

20 minutes after the incident and no decision was announced. TV audience has no idea who won the race.

TV Cameras catch Gallagher talking to Kehoe before a decision is announced.

Yet, he was able to penalize the poor guy in the LCQ as he came off the track after a 5 minute moto.

This is not a good look for a sanctioning body.

Texas Built wrote:

Marv won. Penalty is only points.

731chopper wrote:

After reading the rules again I think it is saying it’s 2 positions with the respective points and purse if a position wasn’t gained. It’s the positions gained plus an additional 2 if there were gains. So, 2 spots is the base penalty in other words.

Points equal to two positions. Not 2 positions.

|

3/23/2019 11:10 PM

Maybe Musquin wasn't the only one with wheels off the ground. Maybe other teams are saying other riders did it too. So maybe the officials have to go and study footage from all angles to make sure they penalise every rider that had wheels off the ground before they go and just make their decision public. This can be potentially big on the championship run. They have to make sure they get it (all) right. Could have massive ramifications if they don't get it completely right.

|

3/23/2019 11:10 PM

TeamGrnRacer99 wrote:

Rogers involved that’s why there’s a delay. He ALWAYS gets his way.

I've heard this too much, i'd be sad if it's true tho. Can you expand, throw in some examples please?

|