Stupid question, how do you move your weight forward?

Edited Date/Time 7/26/2019 6:24am
I'm a fairly new rider and I noticed that people say to "move your weight forward" to bring the front down after hitting a jump with to much throttle. I can't seem to do this, I know how to move my weight forward on mountain bikes because I do it all the time, but I just can't seem to have the flexibility to move my weight forward on the bike.

Should I try throwing my hips forward or trying to get my whole body over the front of the bike? I can think about it but when I try to do it, it doesn't seem to work.

Stupid question but hoping to get an answer.

(also I'm a fairly tall guy, around 5'11, I'm not sure if that would affect it at all)
|
Dr.201
7/25/2019 4:22pm
Maybe you are trying to jump your dirtbike with mountain bike technique? I'm new to mountain bikes and the jumping doesn't really translate but everything else does. Maybe watch some videos on youtube for mx jumping skills or attend a local camp?
50dippin
7/25/2019 4:44pm
It's all about the take off, stay loose and neutral. Don't hit the jump with too much throttle. You can try tapping the rear brake, but If you're loose and comfortable this shouldn't be an issue on most jumps. More seat time will help, once you get comfortable with a jump you should have a feeling of how long you will be in the air and should be able to compensate easily.
sandtrack315
7/25/2019 4:52pm Edited Date/Time 7/25/2019 4:52pm
_bwgannon_ wrote:
I'm a fairly new rider and I noticed that people say to "move your weight forward" to bring the front down after hitting a jump with...
I'm a fairly new rider and I noticed that people say to "move your weight forward" to bring the front down after hitting a jump with to much throttle. I can't seem to do this, I know how to move my weight forward on mountain bikes because I do it all the time, but I just can't seem to have the flexibility to move my weight forward on the bike.