Standard length motovan - I know, I know, another van build.

Related:
Create New Tag

2/23/2017 9:55 AM
Edited Date/Time: 2/23/2017 12:50 PM

I've been building this E-150 for a couple of months and wanted to show you guys some ideas for people thinking of buying a standard length moto van.
Well back to the situation of why I ended up deciding to buy and build a moto van.

I was at my GF house and had my 2 dirt bikes in the back of my truck. I went inside to get some food while I left my truck outside, my whole visited lasted around 45 minutes and in that time my two bikes almost got hijacked by some stupid motherf***rs. Thank god I went to my truck to retrieve my wallet and encountered 2 kids trying to unload my bike out of my truck. I quickly sprinted to catch them, but had a sore leg from that day of riding and wasn't even able to keep up with them. My girl and I thought about how crazy that situation was and at the moment I knew I needed a van in my life.

I was waiting for a perfect condition extended van with low miles, mint condition and under 5k. Well, you guys should know I was pretty much asking for a unicorn. After 3 months of looking relentlessly everyday craigslist, I encountered a standard E150 2005, 70k miles for 5,700 mint condition and we had to jump on that deal.

I was afraid that I might regret the decision of going standard length, but I went for it and guess what? I'm in route to a standard van that can fit 3 bikes (4 with hitch receiver) and have a sleeper sofa without the use of an extended van.

Pros of having a van:
- no more rain hitting my bike before or after the track
- peace of mind
- don't have to unload
- can camp and road trip in it
- no need for the trailer
- it's a van
- might give away free candy

Cons:
- mpg

Please feel free to chime in with any ideas or steal mine if you want.
Well let's stop the writing and show the pictures:

here is the van that was purchased:
Photo

Put the bike in and at least it fits.
Photo

Photo