So we decided to take an extended Alta hillclimbing. . .

JM485
Edited Date/Time 10/18/2018 9:16pm
Just wanted to share a little bit about a project I was a part of a few weeks back. Those who follow Alta on social media or subscribe to their email listing may have already seen a little about it.

The short version of how this all came about was an idea a friend of mine and I had about taking an Alta hillclimbing. After riding one, I was under the strong impression that the bike would seriously excel in this discipline, and Alta ended up feeling similarly enough that they let us borrow a 18 Redshift EXR for a few weeks to get some extensions outfitted on it and race it at the 2018 Carnegie Classic Hillclimb. I work as a ME, and I've been dabbling into designing some sets of extensions for the last year or so in partnership with XTNDED. Some of you who read Dirtbike Magazine may have noticed they recently did an article on Kyle Redmond's 450 build of the Great American Hillclimb earlier this summer. The extensions outfitted on that bike were a prototype set of ours, and extremely similar to what we outfitted our Alta with. Now, because of the insanely short amount of time we had to make this happen (about 3 weeks to design, machine, and test the extensions before the race), Alta was nice enough to mail me an old swingarm to take measurements off before we picked up the demo bike, and that's probably the only way this even got done because we were down to the wire.Laughing A little CAD model tweaking and 3D test printing later, and the part files/drawing were sent to the machinist.