Shoei Helmets and safety.

JB479
Edited Date/Time 9/2/2014 12:05pm
Hey guys,

Ive been wearing shoei helmets for the last 3 years.
However in the last 12months I've been knocked out twice and had concussions.
The first crash i didn't do any other damage,however The second crash which was yesterday,
i ended up breaking my wrist and was knocked out.
First bone I've broke in 10 years of riding/racing, to say the least I'm pretty disappointed.

Im wondering if i was wearing any other helmet, i may have not have been knocked out?
Ive always thought Shoei helmets are basically top notch when it comes to safety and protection.

Im really considering spending the extra cash and buying the new 6d helmets?

thanks jack.
|
86honda
8/30/2014 5:33pm
Helmets shatter when you have a hard hit. Thats the way they are designed. Shoei has a replacement policy that is one of the best
Preston412
8/30/2014 5:35pm
Can't really say it was the helmet, they are designed to lessen the severity not prevent it. So, if you hit your head hard enough, you will get a concussion with any top level helmet.
But, if the 6D will make you feel more protected then go get you one but i am not sold on the idea that they are better.

Just a word to you, helmets are recommend to be replaced after one hard crash.
Olson
8/30/2014 5:36pm
Did you replace the helmet after the first crash?

A friend of mine lost grip of his handlebar just before hitting a jump landed backwards after the landing, split his Shoei in half and did'nt feel anything. Every crash is different I guess. But that proves something to me at least.
Preston412
8/30/2014 5:37pm
86honda wrote:
Helmets shatter when you have a hard hit. Thats the way they are designed. Shoei has a replacement policy that is one of the best
X2. Shoei will also have a rep from your area inspect it.

The Shop

swtwtwtw
8/30/2014 5:39pm
Once one is concussed, it is more likely to happen again and again. Shoei is a top notch helmet.
Gringoe
8/30/2014 5:39pm