SPEED Live

JW381
Edited Date/Time 2/27/2012 6:38pm
I love being able to watch the races live on SPEED, trust me. I may be a little picky here, but I've just grown too tired of their formulaic approach to the broadcasts. Example: Showing the leader cross the finish line, regardless of what may be happening behind him. If RV is 20 seconds out front, and Dungey and Stewart are rubbing plastic for second place, I feel like it's a waste to show Villo cross the line. They need to focus on the drama that the races have. NASCAR is sure to show any fight or altercation between drivers on the track or in the pits, so why should this be any different? RC or Fro may attempt to explain how one rider is doing a section differently or taking a unique line, but they're just trying to describe what happened in the midst of the live shots. They need better replays of more relevant and crucial events. Not just replaying the holeshot or the "pass of the race" over and over.

I'm no expert on TV broadcasts by any means, but I watch other sports enough to know that they do show what's going on beyond just the surface more so than they do with MX and SX. I know it's more of niche sport, but fans aren't dumb, and the dumb fans are going to be dumb regardless of what they show on TV. Every sport has dumb fans, so why tailor to them? When I'm watching golf or football or basketball, I don't feel like they're trying to explain the game to me. F1 commentary is much more precise and in depth and relevant to actual racing matters. I can't say the same for these SX broadcasts.

Agree or disagree?
|
Thor34103
2/27/2012 1:47pm
I agree that often they are not showing the right thing on the finishes. They will even cut away to a commercial before the top 5 cross the finish line. Another thing they focus on is if someone falls they keep the camera on the guy picking up the bike. This is expecially annoying when it is at the start and thing are still sorting out up front.