Running No. 1 plate USA vs Europe

Related:
Create New Tag

9/29/2018 11:13 AM

Just a thought I've had in past years while watching AMA and now seeing the Imola GP I jave to ask the question.

With Herlings (and presumably Prado, I haven't seen his bike to confirm) now running number 1 as they are the new champion, that makes perfect sense to me. Why does the AMA consider the previous year champ the number 1 until the season is finished? Is it just a minor technicality between the different sanctioning bodies? I personally think regardless of the series you should run the number 1 plate as soon as you have been declared champion

|

9/29/2018 11:20 AM

I have to agree on this. It's something I thought about awhile ago when someone has wrapped up the title early.

|

9/29/2018 11:42 AM
Edited Date/Time: 9/29/2018 11:42 AM

Herlings is only running that red number 1 on his front plate. Side plates are #84. Don't think he will be running the 1 next season actually. Probably just 84.

|

9/29/2018 12:58 PM

I believe it’s because they are the defending champion.

|

9/29/2018 3:31 PM

I don't know anything about if Herlings would actually run the number 1 next year, but I HAVE to imagine the Alpinestars marketing team would be licking their chops if he did. 450 SX, 450 MX, MXGP, all number 1, all wearing AStars.

|

9/29/2018 3:42 PM

It's the reward for winning the previous year. I always like the old school system.

|

9/29/2018 4:12 PM

motomike137 wrote:

It's the reward for winning the previous year. I always like the old school system.

yup, just like boxing and every other sport.

|

9/29/2018 6:17 PM

motomike137 wrote:

It's the reward for winning the previous year. I always like the old school system.

barnett468 wrote:

yup, just like boxing and every other sport.

Right, could you imagine a 12 round boxing event. They look at the judges score cards at round 9, and see that the challenger is up enough in points that he is not going to lose so they give him the belt and before round 10, and the former champ now rounds 10-12 to knock him out to get the belt back...

|

9/29/2018 6:38 PM

And at Vegas the current 250 Champs will run 1e and 1w.

Makes no sense not have them run the #1 once they wrap the championship up.

|