Riding area questions for NorCal bros

NorCal 50+
6/30/2017 11:52am
I am new to California and I brought along my 2004 RM250 (see bike rebuild forum). I want to do some light riding to get back into the swing of things since I now have a full hip prosthetic. So I don't really want to go rip an MX track my first time out after five years off (with an 85 rider jumping over my head on the first lap etc.).

I know the red sticker/green sticker rules but I see some NorCal public riding areas are year-round. I live in Grass Valley and want to ride Tahoe Forest. The ranger said you need red/green sticker but didn't know if I can ride Yuba River District trails year-round with red sticker, or I need a green sticker (ranger did not know). Here is the map of where I am talking about.

Anybody know my best options around here with a red sticker bike and spark arrestor? And where are there some good medium-challenging hare scramble races? I know I can ride Prairie City, but only in red sticker months.
And if any friendly NorCal bros want to show a new transplant some good trails, please let me know!

|
sparker245
6/30/2017 1:14pm
Don't know much about the off road options around your area, but if you want a fun little track to get the rust off I'd suggest the back track at E-Street MX in Marysville. The front track is deep sand and can get pretty rough, but he back track has been updated recently and it's FUN. Nothing challenging, but fun and great for a little practice. Not crowded either. Your RM250 would be a blast.
Ted722
6/30/2017 1:28pm Edited Date/Time 6/30/2017 1:31pm
There's plenty of places around here to get back into it. Argyll Park in Dixon's pretty mello for moto.

There's a lot of options off-road. Forresthill's nice and Elkin's flat. Many more too that are red-sticker year round. http://www.riderplanet-usa.com/atv/trails/california_list.htm

Elkins Flat
http://www.riderplanet-usa.com/atv/trails/info/california_12313/ride_13…

Foresthill