Returning Vet Rider - FC350 or TC250?

SonofThor32
7/27/2022 12:18pm Edited Date/Time 7/29/2022 3:45am
Hey fellas,

So "back in my day" (late 80s, and 90s), I was a mediocre amateur B rider, so not a total slouch. I took a massive hiatus after the last big crash breaking my femur so I stepped away from racing, but have never stopped following the sport, or the local racing scene (I live for this stuff). A little over a year ago, at the ripe age of 48, I decided life would be incomplete without getting back on a bike on a track again (while I can). When trying to decide what bike to get, I knew I didn't want a 125, I spent years wringing them out, and while fun, they are work to go fast. I didn't want a 250f, kind of for the same reasons for not wanting a 125. I am 160lbs, and having not been on a bike in a long time (never had a 4t), I figured a 450 was more than I would ever need, which is why I settled in the middle on a 22 FC350.

Fast forward to a year later and about 15 hours on the bike, I have discovered issues I did not realize I would have so bad. I work out 3-4 days a week which consists of a lot of running, and mild weight lifting, so in decent enough shape with good cardio. However, I knew I had arthritis and possibly carpal tunnel, but had no idea how bad it would be. I know there is surgeries and I may cross that bridge some day, but not now. Anyway, my hands cramp, bad... To the point of after about 5 mins of track pace, my hands are on fire and hurt like hell and I have to pull off until they calm down. No cardio problems, no arm pump, just hands that plain suck. I have dialed the suspension a bit (just a bit), and I am certain I am leaving a lot on the table there, but I am not getting the joy I was expecting.