"RACE" ENGINES

2/16/2018 1:25am Edited Date/Time 2/21/2018 7:47pm
I am a 52 yr old novice rider (only 10 years riding), I weigh 220 lbs, and, I have 2008 CRF 450Rs that feel so good and balanced to me. On one of the bikes I have an engine that a famous engine builder created - close to 60 hp is my guess. I love this engine - with my size and weight especially. It has the flattest power curve of any type of car or bike I have experience with. It is being rebuilt now - it has MANY hours on it.

Here is the question (thank you for your thoughts on this). I have increased the idle to annoying levels (it annoys others around me), but, coming into tight corners, from high speeds (especially on race day) I stall this bike when the other identical bikes I have (except for the engine on the other bikes) do not stall.

I am thinking of putting a Rekluse clutch in along with the rebuild.

Do I need to learn how to ride better, and, dismiss this idea of a Rekluse?

Are highly modified, high horsepower engines more difficult to ride typically?

Thanks
|
Jmicmoto13
2/16/2018 3:03am
Is a 60hp race engine more difficult to ride? The heck kind of a question is that? Is a 1,300hp Corvette more difficult to drive than a Prius?

Paging Kzizok.....

2/16/2018 3:15am
Sounds like you should just put a Rekluse in it and be done with it.
Robgvx
2/16/2018 4:01am
Rekluse. Best investment you can make, regardless of riding ability.

The Shop

RCF
2/16/2018 6:45am
I lost all love for rekluse when I had one blow apart and fill a brand new engine with metal shavings.
FDMoto525
2/16/2018 7:09am