Question about Red Cross flag

Related:
Create New Tag

1/27/2018 6:12 PM

End of 450 heat 2, Red Cross flag waving with the checkered flag because someone had crashed between them...but the riders still jumped the finish line double. How does it work in that situation? Since technically the race is over at that point, does it just serve as a warning to the riders and not actually a penalty-giving action? Didn’t hear the broadcast team mention it, so was just curious...I’d never seen that situation come up before.

|

1/27/2018 6:21 PM

Wondered the same... several guys jumped it on the red cross flag.

|

1/27/2018 6:21 PM

Photo

|

I race for plastic trophies, so get off my back.

1/27/2018 10:59 PM

Webb and two others?

Anyone know why that was not an issue??

|

2/2/2018 4:45 PM

Just a bump...hoping someone would know the rules (not that they're just enforced on a whim anyway...)

|

2/2/2018 4:49 PM

ddog558 wrote:

Just a bump...hoping someone would know the rules (not that they're just enforced on a whim anyway...)

The rules are clear, as clear as "don't jump."

In a case where everyone did it can they really enforce it? I would think not.

|



2/2/2018 5:59 PM

ddog558 wrote:

End of 450 heat 2, Red Cross flag waving with the checkered flag because someone had crashed between them...but the riders ...more

In my opinion, they couldn't really enforce the rule for this specific incident, since in order to avoid jumping, one must slow down substantially. Since this was at the finish line, with the checkers flying, one could lose a qualifying position by obeying the rule, and therefore not qualify...

Tough call I'd say...for the officials, and the riders

|

Many thanks to everyone helping me out this GNCC season: SRT Offroad, Acerbis, FCR Suspension, O'Neal Racing, Evans Waterless Coolants, Rekluse, Twin Air, Braking Brakes, Carbsport

Profile image credit Ken Hill Photography