Question: Desktop Computer For Streaming Races, etc...for Vital's tech savy!

Related:
Create New Tag

11/10/2018 7:21 AM
Edited Date/Time: 11/10/2018 7:29 AM

Hey guys. Well, like everything else in life, I turn to you guys. smile This is kinda long but want to give details. I'm a musician, not very computer tech savy so I need some advice.

My situation. No high speed where I live. Long documented. I use a Verizon old tech USB aircard that has an old old Alltel UNLIMITED plan that is no longer available thru Verizon but it is grandfathered in. It's a USB aircard that uses VZ Access.

It works pretty decent hooked up to my Samsung 65" 4K but it's by the window which is prob only reason it works well. Doesn't work well anywhere else in house. So I never move it. Always plugged in to an OLD OLD Dell computer that has...yikes...Vista. Yes, I know. It was my Mom's before she passed. It's a super cheap computer but despite all this I can watch Netflix, Youtube and even stream practices like Raceday or NBC Gold. Pretty decent at least. But it has to run on lowest visual settings to work. Def no HD here. Blurry as hell.

So, before SX season starts I am going to control what I can (since they refuse to run high speed here) and buy a new desktop computer to hook to TV thru HDMI. My MAIN goal is to use my limited but serviceable internet (since it is unlimited I can use it all day, every day for like $80 a month)...to use it to watch Raceday Live or use the NBC app to watch practices. I usually watch the MX races on Mav/NBCSN since again thru desktop it is super low res to work. Want to be able to run smoothly and run with high settings so I can actually see what's happening!