Professional Track Conditions

Wiztardo
Edited Date/Time 5/7/2018 9:14am
I am pretty new to the sport- so I hate to ask such a potentially dumb question.

Every form of media I see about pros training at their test tracks, shows them riding on the most beautiful, pristine, manicured tracks. Why is this? The little amount of racing I have seen looks quite different than the training tracks. Are those glamour shots and footage only taken at the beginning of training sessions before the conditions of the track break down? Or is it just a complete after thought to such a skilled rider? I've always been curious about that.
|
kb228
5/3/2018 11:52am
Im curious too. It makes more sense to me to let tracks get wasted and train on that instead of prepped tracks.
Donovan759
5/3/2018 11:58am
I'm not sure I would want to be training on a wrecked track all week. Its a heck of a lot easier to make a miscalculation in ruts than it is without them. Leave that for Saturday.
5/3/2018 12:21pm
I think they do just show the tracks in prime shape for social media standards. If you look at some of the outdoors tracks they are training on like bakers factory and the nest where some of the geico boys trained the tracks are super gnarly. Im sure Tomacs track in colorado where him and jmart are training is pretty beat up too. Its really the only way to get in true race shape.
huck
5/3/2018 12:29pm
A lot of them are as hard as concrete and they are turning lap after lap on them...

The Shop

Titan1
5/3/2018 12:52pm Edited Date/Time 5/3/2018 12:53pm
Practice in hell, race in heaven...

If I were a pro rider I’d groom my track once a month (except jump faces), let it get so rough and so chewed up and so rutted up that the tracks on race day would be a piece of cake.
devindavisphoto
Fantasy
3875th
5/3/2018 2:14pm
Have you guys ever been to a test track when there wasn't a professional film crew there filming? These guys ride on chewed up tracks, you just don't see it.
loftyair
5/3/2018 2:23pm