Private Mechanic Salary?

sgrimmxdad
Fantasy
1957th
I have been kicking this idea around a lot. My son rides a lot and we have a large number of bikes. I am no mechanic, my career is in finance. I find my self spending more and more hours every week servicing his bikes to the best of my ability. Just had his 15 YZ250F rebuilt from the ground up and I hadn't serviced the bearings and such as I should have, which lead to more repairs of course.

To the point, what would a competent MX mechanic salary typically be?

My son is not at the point of needing that, but time wise I do. I have my own shop and have tons of mx friends and thought about doing one bike at the time for others to help off set the cost.

I would like to go to the races and enjoy it instead of working so hard between classes. I want him to work on riding and school so I do all the bike up keep. I average an 1 or better a day keeping up his 3 main bikes he rides. That doesn't include race prep, race day, or clean up.... Its almost a full time job lol!
|
kkawboy14
9/11/2016 6:39am
what would it cost to live? which is why some mechanics are given a bedroom so they don't have to pay rent and food so they don't have to buy that and then some cash. each situation is different.
Travis_Hudson
Fantasy
997th
9/11/2016 6:53am
$300-$400 a week if you supply place to live and food. $500+ a week if they have to rent a room somewhere else.
sgrimmxdad
Fantasy
1957th
9/11/2016 7:07am
Room and board is not the option I wanted to go. It could happen but it would have to be a really perfect fit...

We live in a pretty cool area for a young man or family. We live in Greenville NC home of ECU. A young single man's dream lol! Cost of living is pretty low around here! Plenty of rentals all of the time with all the college and medical community. We have a huge medical district, huge hospital that is one of the biggest in the south east!

We have lots of tracks within an hour or so in each direction.
kzizok
Fantasy
2068th