Personal injury waivers in the information age.

Skerby
Edited Date/Time 3/9/2021 1:06pm
I was thinking about this the other day. I may be wrong about this but I think insurance is a big expense for a lot of tracks, and in some states the personal injury release does not hold up in court.

What I'm thinking is instead of a waiver, you make all riders submit a short video wherein they acknowledge that what they are about to do is dangerous and that they assume all risk.

Would this hold up in court better? Could tracks get cheaper insurance this way?
|
3/9/2021 8:34am
Format of waiver doesn't really matter.

Most suits are predicated on some notion of gross negligence or deliberate disregard for safety by management, which generally the courts have held cannot be waived.
Beeby
3/9/2021 9:27am
I think (and I am no expert) that the logic is that a person cannot sign away their right to be safe and / or assume the risk on themselves that the environment that they are conducting the event in is safe.

It is always a fair assumption that the people running the event have made every effort to make it safe. If you write it down, make a video or cut it in stone, it doesn't make a difference I do not think.
3/9/2021 9:33am Edited Date/Time 3/9/2021 9:33am
My brother and I were working through this. We have a track and get people asking all the time if they could come ride. We have talked with a lawyer in the past and we’re pretty much told a signed waiver is a good idea but won’t save you. Unfortunately we haven’t found a good answer either.

The Shop

mister2dt
3/9/2021 9:35am