Every SX Premier class winner.

Create New Tag

1/2/2018 4:15 PM
Edited Date/Time: 1/2/2018 4:31 PM

Over 43 years there have only been 20 riders to win an SX premier class championship. When you look at it yourself its shocking how many people repeat in this sport. Once someone gets to the next level they dominate, someone will win in between every once in a while but for the more part its 1 guy who dominates an era. Where were at now who will that be? Tomac? Musquin? Roczen? Maybe this year will be a different winner then next year the next person starts their streak. Who knows but its pretty shocking to look at. Hopefully were in a new era now where Dungey was the last to of that era. It also could just as easily become Eli, or even Roczen or Marvin. Cant wait to find out. Either way the list is shocking to look at. I hope were entering a new age where we have different winners each year, or at least not so many repeats. Its awesome to watch but can get boring. History does say otherwise. Since Carmichael those under the Baker program will rip off a bunch of years in a row and then retire. Could this lead to Musquin? Only one way to find out.

1974- Pierre Karsmakers
1975- Jimmy Ellis
1976- Jimmy Weinert

1977- Bob Hannah
1978- Bob Hannah
1979- Bob Hannah

1980- Mike Bell
1981- Mark Barnett
1982- Donnie Hansen

1983- David Bailey
1984- Johnny O’Mara

1985- Jeff Ward
1986- Rick Johnson
1987- Jeff Ward
1988- Rick Johnson

1989- Jeff Stanton
1990- Jeff Stanton

1991- Jean-Michel Bayle

1992- Jeff Stanton

1993- Jeremy McGrath
1994- Jeremy McGrath
1995- Jeremy McGrath
1996- Jeremy McGrath

1997- Jeff Emig

1998- Jeremy McGrath
1999- Jeremy McGrath
2000- Jeremy McGrath

2001- Ricky Carmichael
2002- Ricky Carmichael
2003- Ricky Carmichael

2004- Chad Reed

2005- Ricky Carmichael
2006- Ricky Carmichael

2007- James Stewart
2008- Chad Reed
2009- James Stewart

2010- Ryan Dungey

2011- Ryan Villopoto
2012- Ryan Villopoto
2013- Ryan Villopoto
2014- Ryan Villopoto

2015- Ryan Dungey
2016- Ryan Dungey
2017- Ryan Dungey

2018- TBD


1/2/2018 6:41 PM
Edited Date/Time: 1/2/2018 6:42 PM

Pretty incredible that in the past 17 seasons, only 5 guys have won!

And in the past 25 seasons, only 7


1/2/2018 10:51 PM

What is this "premiere" class you speak of? Is that a new name? Like EA Sports Supercross Championship?


"What happens to your hands when you crash?"
"I put my hands up real quick to protect my sunglasses"

1/3/2018 3:19 AM

enketchum wrote:

What is this "premiere" class you speak of? Is that a new name? Like EA Sports Supercross Championship?

The 450 class is referred to as the “premier” class of supercross.


2009 Kawasaki KX450F
2009 Kawasaki KX250F
2002 Suzuki GSXR 600

1/3/2018 3:55 AM

So your saying we need a chase format?


1/3/2018 3:12 PM
Edited Date/Time: 1/3/2018 3:16 PM

enketchum wrote:

What is this "premiere" class you speak of? Is that a new name? Like EA Sports Supercross Championship?

450f/2502t instead of saying the 450 class formerly known as the 250 2 stroke class.

Since 2010 only 2 different riders have won the 450 supercross class.


1/3/2018 3:29 PM
Edited Date/Time: 1/3/2018 3:29 PM

Now which Ryan will win next
Isn't Kennys middle name Ryan?