Not very interesting

First off I have a serious question, I have been racing motocross for 19 years. I like to think I'm not a goon but that's irrelevant. Anyways, I had a friend tell me he bleaches all of his gear to get it clean... I must admit that I haven't washed my own gear very many times.. I have a great mother. I mentioned this to her and she told me that's why I don't wash the gear. I tried to google it but didn't get trustworthy results to bleach my gear.. Can I get some input on the validity of the theory this guy speaks of. *hes a legit C rider, just saying. But they're usually the one with some brains.