New to Air Forks, Revalve?

usafwx
Edited Date/Time 4/15/2017 1:35pm
So I decided to pick up a 16 CRF250R, found a great deal on one with only 6 hours after riding a 15 I liked it so why not while I'm young.

Anywho, this is my first set of air forks and I'm starting to feel a bit overwhelmed coming from my KYB SSS stuff. I understand I need to set my sag first, then my pressures, then try the maps for the engine, then come back and mess with clickers which is intimidating alone to say the least as I'm not good at figuring out what its doing on the track as far as stroke, feedback, etc. I mean I can tell you when its kicking or something obvious like that, but still feel an incoming headache about which clicker for what and when and why.

I've been watching a few videos on them including @ML512 's video on setting them up (by the way just finished your podcast on pulpmx which had some great suspension discussion as well, as always nice work Mike!) and can't make up my mind if I should just send them off to Factory Connection and go from there or try my hand at it and save the dough.

From what I've read here many think revalving is a waste for slower guys, others say its a must, some say its a waste with air forks, just trying to get some opinions being I'm just a C class weekend warrior. Thanks for all the help/responses in advance!

Zach
|
PFitzG38
4/15/2017 9:32am
I feel you pain. Try getting a feel for what they are doing before sending them off. A good way to get a feel is to back off your clickers one at a time all the way. You'll feel it. Then go the other way all the way. It's a little easier finding the happy spot that way. Once you do you won't have to go much either way for changing conditions.

Yes it's a little easier said than done, but once you start to learn, riding is that much more enjoyable

Don't make changes in the garage and...........Enjoy the process
usafwx
4/15/2017 9:35am
PFitzG38 wrote: