Need some mtn bike advice

bents
Fantasy
694th
10/27/2014 9:14pm Edited Date/Time 10/29/2014 9:02pm
I'm a total newb here, so I need some advice. My wife and I are mtn bike enthusiasts but we currently have piece of crap cheap bikes and are looking to get more serious about real trail riding. I need some advice about the type of bike we should be looking for (hardtail vs full suspension), and anything else I should be considering. I would think buying used would be better, so what should I be looking out for? Would 800-1000 per bike get me started? I'm all ears. From what I have read here many of you here are pretty hard core and know your shit here. Thanks in advance. I'm 5'5" and my wife is 5'7" if that helps.
|
PTECH
10/27/2014 9:20pm
I'll let some of the other guys chime in on what bike you should get but I would say buying used will save you ton of money. I picked up a 2010 Specialized stumpjumper comp 29er ($1900 new) in late 2011 for for 1000 bucks, needed nothing but someone to ride it.
zehn
10/27/2014 9:33pm
The bike you choose is largely dependent on the type of riding you plan to do. Are you gonna be doing flowy singletrack? Bombing downhill?
bents
Fantasy
694th
10/27/2014 9:45pm
Zhen, more single track for sure but want to be able to experiment with a little downhill as well, nothing too crazy. And Motorush I'm assuming you are suggesting you don't give a shit, and if not, no problem, piss off and find another thread to shit on.

The Shop

Skippie
10/27/2014 9:52pm Edited Date/Time 10/27/2014 9:52pm
bents wrote:
Zhen, more single track for sure but want to be able to experiment with a little downhill as well, nothing too crazy. And Motorush I'm assuming...
Zhen, more single track for sure but want to be able to experiment with a little downhill as well, nothing too crazy. And Motorush I'm assuming you are suggesting you don't give a shit, and if not, no problem, piss off and find another thread to shit on.