My Story - Lay Over Stand

MOTO120
Edited Date/Time 9/16/2014 5:20am
Just thought I'd share a short story of what it took to get the Lay Over Stand to market. First of all, I know many of you will probably say this is the dumbest thing ever thought of...yeah yeah yeah...I never claimed for this to be the solver of "World Peace", just thought this stand would make the task of laying a bike over easier, quicker, and safer/more stable.

The general idea of the stand had been in my mind for several years, just didn't know what to do about it. Through my years of riding/racing and having grown up with my dad racing regularly, I thought there had to be a better way to lay the bike over. Too many times have I had my bikes simply move on a regular stand (but not quite fall off), actually fall off the stand, scratch a fork tube, bend a lever, rip a grip, etc.

I am a 3-D product designer by trade so I began creating multiple different models and eventually came up with something that seemed would work....on the computer screen haha.

Soon after coming up with the concept and putting together 3-D models and 2-D build prints of the stand, I ended signing an agreement with Motorsport Products to produce and sell the stand.

We (myself and MP) had a couple initial prototype versions made....what a cool feeling that was to see an idea in your head really come to light (believe it or not, there was one of the first prototypes of these stands being used at A1 last year...2013). Here is a pic of me testing the stand out while in the middle of my CR 250 build :-)

After some testing and feedback, we made some improvements to the stand and had a 2nd round of prototype stands made (thinking these were the final product, we were able to get some "cool" ones made haha). Here is a pic of prototype #2 and me using it.