Moved to America

Freddyfred
3/26/2017 6:27pm
Hi All

I've been lurking here for many years and finally signed up!
I moved to the beautiful country of USA 1 month ago and I'm getting keen to ride again. I've been riding in both Sweden and Australia for the past 6 years but never in the US.
At the moment I'm in Seattle but will be moving to Chicago in June to live for a year.
So far I'm thinking of getting a van and leaning towards a KTM/Husqvarna 250 2-stroke around -14/15 since all I've been riding this whole time is 250 2-strokes and I like them.
Since everything here is new for me I was hoping to get some advice on the following topics:
Do I need to think about anything special in regards to medical insurance?
Do I need to be a member of a club?
Where to best find a bike? Dealer? Craigslist? Other sites?
Title on a bike?
Are prices on vans and bikes different between Seattle and Chicago?
Where to ride?

Feeling a tad lost and any advice is welcome!

Cheers/ Fred
|
RandyS
3/26/2017 6:36pm
I really miss the days of guaranteed hazing for all newbs, but your post is just so damn nice. I don't have much to add other than you need to stay in Seattle until August 1st so you don't miss Washougal, you will regret it for the rest of you life. Bikes are probably cheaper in Illinois, West Coast is usually the most expensive.
MxKing809
Fantasy
158th
3/26/2017 6:37pm Edited Date/Time 3/26/2017 6:47pm
I would be verrrrry cautious keeping a bike in a van full time in Chicago. Red Bud, Dutch spot park, log road in Michigan will probably be a 2-3 hour drive for you.

Oh yeah! Welcome!

STFU Newbe!
RandyS
3/26/2017 6:40pm
MxKing809 wrote:
I would be verrrrry cautious keeping a bike in a van full time in Chicago. Red Bud, Dutch spot park, log road in Michigan will probably...
I would be verrrrry cautious keeping a bike in a van full time in Chicago. Red Bud, Dutch spot park, log road in Michigan will probably be a 2-3 hour drive for you.

Oh yeah! Welcome!

STFU Newbe!