Moto Van bike transport

deadlo
Edited Date/Time 12/3/2020 4:39am
For you guys with camper converted transits and sprinters...

I am looking at something like the risk racing lock n load to secure my bike. My question is, how do you mount one of these? Most van floors are floating or held down with just glue. Should I drill the base through the floating floor, and the van floor? Anyone have something similar?

https://riskracing.com/pages/lock-n-load-pro

Thanks!
|
moto67e
Fantasy
2734th
12/2/2020 11:55pm

I have them inside my motovan and just screwed them to the plywood floor i have in my van. I've been using them this way for the past 6 months with no problems.
deadlo
12/2/2020 11:59pm
moto67e wrote:
[img]https://p.vitalmx.com/photos/forums/2020/12/02/463101/s1200_IMG_6725.jpg[/img] I have them inside my motovan and just screwed them to the plywood floor i have in my van. I've been using them this way...

I have them inside my motovan and just screwed them to the plywood floor i have in my van. I've been using them this way for the past 6 months with no problems.
Is the plywood floor floating or secured to the van floor? I was going to glue down insulating board to the van floor, then plywood just sitting on top of the insulation board (no screws), then vinyl glued to the plywood. I’m wondering if I can just screw the lock n load to the plywood and it’d be fine, or have to bolt through the plywood, insulation, and van floor.
luke11
Fantasy
2280th
12/3/2020 1:31am
I’d be interested to know aswell. The plywood floor on my van is fixed to glued downbatons approx 2inch high with insulation in the gaps.
I want that lock and load system but ideally, would like to just go into a baton with wood screw rather than drilling the van floor. Just not sure it’ll be strong enough
mac3-d
12/3/2020 1:32am
in the event of a collision it would be best to go through the van floor. you don't want a bike coming at you inside your van.

The Shop

DM268
12/3/2020 2:48am