Macadoo - If you cause a red flag should you be allowed to line up?

Related:
Create New Tag

4/13/2021 6:03 PM

If you cause a red flag should you be allowed to line up for the restart? ?

View Results

|

4/13/2021 6:05 PM

Yes. Because he didn’t call for the red flag. The AMA race director did.

I say let him have at it. Dude got F@&kedddddd up in that crash!

|

4/13/2021 6:09 PM

One thing is for certain. Star will protest

|

4/13/2021 6:09 PM

twotwosix wrote:

Yes. Because he didn’t call for the red flag. The AMA race director did.

I say let him have at it. Dude got F@&kedddddd ...more

Agree with this, because the reason why someone shouldn't be allowed to race would have more to do with the injuries, rather than whether or not they think they can get you off the track safely.

|

4/13/2021 6:11 PM

If Justin Cooper can’t beat Macadoo after he got ragdolled and bent his bike up, he don’t deserve to win.

Side note, huge props to Cooper for lining back up and getting the holeshot again. Very impressive.

|

4/13/2021 6:12 PM

CM31 didn’t call for the race to be stopped, just happened to workout for him.

In the nfl a player has to stay out at least one play.

|

4/13/2021 6:14 PM

He should not be allowed.

He should at least have to start a lap down since thats where he was when the red flag came out

|

4/13/2021 6:15 PM
Edited Date/Time: 4/13/2021 6:18 PM

If you vote NO , you’re pure 100% poon
That kid IS moto

|

Kevin Windham‏ @kdub_14

Not 1factory racer hasnt been told that if ucan help teammate out, then do it 4 championship. Few r in a position like MM25 #partofthesport

4/13/2021 6:16 PM

Who’s the better gumbee, McAdoo or Gasjer?

|

Mantis Toboggan, M.D

4/13/2021 6:17 PM

twotwosix wrote:

Yes. Because he didn’t call for the red flag. The AMA race director did.

I say let him have at it. Dude got F@&kedddddd ...more

Then he should of got up quicker, if the director makes the call then he must of been too injured to move sooner there for he should be out.

|

4/13/2021 6:19 PM

Next time Eli, Kenny or Webb crashes just lay on the ground till the red flag gets thrown. Line back up and win the race. Easy

|

4/13/2021 6:20 PM
Edited Date/Time: 4/13/2021 6:54 PM

twotwosix wrote:

Yes. Because he didn’t call for the red flag. The AMA race director did.

I say let him have at it. Dude got F@&kedddddd ...more

S.Loyer wrote:

Then he should of got up quicker, if the director makes the call then he must of been too injured to move sooner there for he ...more

You’re not wrong. They have to protect the riders though.

Ramit definitely got lucky, all things considered. I guess that’s what makes Moto unique.

|

4/13/2021 6:22 PM

Normally I’d say no but this is heart if I’ve ever seen it, he took a digger.

|

4/13/2021 6:23 PM

twotwosix wrote:

Yes. Because he didn’t call for the red flag. The AMA race director did.

I say let him have at it. Dude got F@&kedddddd ...more

S.Loyer wrote:

Then he should of got up quicker, if the director makes the call then he must of been too injured to move sooner there for he ...more

So....the boxing ref thing?

|

4/13/2021 6:24 PM

Normally I’d say no but this is heart if I’ve ever seen it, he took a digger.

|

4/13/2021 6:26 PM

There's nothing in the rulebook that says he can't start. Only riders who were present at the gate but for whatever reason did not start and did not join the race before the red flag was displayed are ineligible .

|

4/13/2021 6:29 PM

What a stud.

|

4/13/2021 6:31 PM

The answer should be no because a rider could fake it to work in his advantage by forcing a restart...taking no credit away from how badass McAdoo is after getting back on the bike, but he technically should not be allowed to restart if they don't want any foul play out there with someone faking it in the future.

|

4/13/2021 6:32 PM
Edited Date/Time: 4/13/2021 6:33 PM

If you fall should you be allowed to get back in the race? What's the difference? The rider doesn't call for the red flag

|

4/13/2021 6:33 PM

Justin is already whining. I’m sure star will protest

|

4/13/2021 6:35 PM

The rules from the rulebook: https://www.amasupercross.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/2020-AMA-Supercross-Rulebook.pdf

The note in bold is only in the section about the race being stopped with 3 laps completed. This note does not exist in the section if the race is stopped before 3 laps are complete.

pg 35-36:
b. The race is stopped (with 3 laps completed by the leader and
less than 90% of the total distance completed by the race
leader, rounded down to the nearest whole number of laps /
whether it be a Heat, Last Chance Qualifier or Main Event).
1. A red flag will be displayed to the riders.
PROCEDURES
RACE RULES &
,,,
6. Riders will be restarted from a staggered standing start in
the starting area.
...
g. Riders who were no longer actively participating in race at
the time when the red flag was displayed are not
authorized to take part in the restart.



This is found in the general offenses and penalties.

pg 57: 20. Causing or attempting to cause a race to be stopped. At
the sole discretion of Race Direction, a rider who is judged
to have intentionally caused a red flag may be excluded
from restarting the event in question.



So, by the rules, he would not be barred from restarting for being the cause of the red-flag (since the race had fewer than 3 laps complete & he did not intentionally cause the red flag).

|

4/13/2021 6:36 PM

The biggest question is not if he should be allowed to restart it's where in the field.

|

4/13/2021 6:36 PM

He just said in the interview that his leg hurt so bad he couldn't get up to walk off the jump like they wanted him too. If you can't get off the track or on your bike under your own power, then it doesn't seem like you should be able to line back up in the same lap as everyone else. Like others have said, not taking anything away from a tough young guy making a gutsy ride, just doesn't seem appropriate.

|

@jmr_56 on Instagram

4/13/2021 6:38 PM

He crashed, he was down a considerable time before the medics told him to stay down or whatever, that mistake was negated by the red. I applaud his effort, heart and determination of course. But from a fairness and consistency standpoint he made a huge error and suffered minimal points consequences. That is why I say no...

|

Was once there, now old, fat and tired... require much more horsepower now...

4/13/2021 6:38 PM

Racers race.

Period.

|

I ripped a start from Egypt and I was happy about that.

4/13/2021 6:40 PM

What I just saw reminded me of Hannah, Howerton, Johnson, Stanton...etc. Macadiddy has a new fan...

me.

|

I ripped a start from Egypt and I was happy about that.

4/13/2021 6:40 PM

No number plate though? What if it was a muffler or brake line?

|

2015 Beta 500 RS, history: 99 KTM 300, 87 CR250, 84 KLR 600, 82 GPZ 550, 81 KX 250, 80 KX 250, 79 Montesa 414 VE, 78 250 VB, 77 360 VB, 76 360 VA, 75 YZ 125, 74 TM 125, 72 TS 125, 60's West Bend Go Boy Kart

4/13/2021 6:41 PM

That was a gutsy ride by Macadoo. Major props to him. And he was doing everything by the rules. I was rooting for him.

That said, it’s kind of lame that a rider can be an entire lap down, get a red flag, and then get to start with everyone else. I hate the think it, but setting a
a standard that you can get back into a race after your accident caused a red flag could be a slippery slope.

|

4/13/2021 6:42 PM

Nairb#70 wrote:

The biggest question is not if he should be allowed to restart it's where in the field.

They lined em all back up so that doesn't matter

|

4/13/2021 6:43 PM

Guetterman wrote:

Next time Eli, Kenny or Webb crashes just lay on the ground till the red flag gets thrown. Line back up and win the race. Easy ...more

This ^^^^

How would everyone feel if Kenny or Cooper got a bad start and was in last place while the other was leading....then realized the championship is over and decided to fake a tip over in a turn and lay under the bike acting hurt. Tell the doctors you can't move until the red flag is thrown and then suddenly head back to the gate for a restart and possible 25 point swing with a win??

It sounds like the current rulebook would allow this......it needs a closer look.

|