MEC moving from Vegas to SoCal (Carson)

Kampy
Edited Date/Time 1/4/2020 1:59pm
I wasn't expecting that announcement, but speaking as a SoCal resident, I'm stoked on it!

I think the venue Dignity Heath Center (aka Home Depot / StubHub center) is a good fit for this event– not big enough for a "real" Supercross, but perfect for MEC

The floor area of the venue is probably a bit bigger than Sam Boyd since it was built for soccer (?) I know I've seen a few X Games Freestyle events there and I think RC won an X Games motocross event there too. That venue hosted X Games freestyle events, SuperMoto, motocross, Rally car, etc a lot back in the mid 2000s

I hope this change sticks!

photo of X Games supercross at HD Center in 2009:

|
mattyhamz2
Fantasy
767th
1/3/2020 2:07pm
Honestly, I think this is the beginning of the end of MEC.
early
Fantasy
2212th
1/3/2020 2:10pm
mattyhamz2 wrote:
That was the joker lane.
Kampy
1/3/2020 2:19pm
mattyhamz2 wrote:
I think the beginning of the end of MEC started years ago and this change of venue could give it a boost

I know I used to drive to Vegas for it, but in recent years I've been like "Meh" not worth the trouble of driving all the way there, getting a room, etc

But now that it's a local race like Anaheim, and will only eat up a few hours of my time rather than 2 full days, I'm all about it.

I'd imagine there are a LOT more SX fans within a couple hrs drive to Carson than there are in Vegas, and that will help sustain the event. Also, most of the teams and OEMs are local to Carson too, so maybe more riders will show? Maybe?

I think it's a good move

The Shop

Derpin' DJ
Fantasy
2797th
1/3/2020 2:23pm
mattyhamz2 wrote:
early wrote:
That was the joker lane.
Joker lane has been around for the majority of its existence
BroFoSho
1/3/2020 2:25pm