Keeping in shape for motocross

NoahSuthy99
I wouldn't say I am completely out of shape, I go on a 20 mile bike ride every day on a MTB bike, as well as doing P90X as much as I can, but my endurance is still nothing compared to what the pros are doing nowadays. I am a young amateur hoping to be at that level someday, but i get tired even with 4 lap motos at the local track. Now i know it may be the way i ride, bad form or whatever, and I need to work on it. But off the bike, i can run a 6 minute mile and have endurance better than most. I read cycling is supposed to help endurance a lot and i can notice a little bit of a difference, but is there anything else I can do? How can i get my endurance to a pro level?
|
8/29/2016 1:19pm
Sounds like your cardio is in check if you are a six minute miler, which makes me more wonder about your strength If you are wearing down that quickly.
DE262
8/29/2016 1:19pm
Start swimming. Like a lot.
And/or hire Aldon Baker/ Ryan Hughes/ Etc...
Or keep doing what you're doing- sounds like you're on the right track.
Camp332
8/29/2016 1:26pm
First question: Do you even lift Bro?!

The Shop

olds cool
8/29/2016 1:28pm Edited Date/Time 8/29/2016 1:31pm
How much moto seat time are you getting during the week? Ever hear the one about the guy who asked how to get to Carnegie Hall? The answer is practice, practice and a little more practice. Kind of simplified but when done properly will help.

Almost forgot; STFU Noob! Seriously though, good luck. Wish I was young enough to make a real run at it.
olds cool
8/29/2016 1:45pm
Hate to say it but unless your last name is Dowd or McGrath, 15 may be a little long in the tooth to contemplate a pro mx career. I hope you prove me wrong though.
Uncle Tony
8/29/2016 1:57pm