Help decide: KTM EXC/XC 150 2020 TPI vs KTM SX150 2020

1/4/2021 2:33am Edited Date/Time 1/5/2021 11:44am
Hi there!

Im from Sweden so english is my second language, be kind to my grammatical errors.

My skill level is beginner when it comes to track/moto as I have not ridden this before. I have some experience in the woods and trails with friends before on my FE450 just for fun. I've had a motorcycle driver's license for 6 years and had plenty of other road bikes (gixxer 1000, mt10, tuono) and rode supermoto KTM 450 last summer.

Im 31 years old and 5′11″ and 176 lbs. This is a dream for me and i want to purchase the right bike for 65% moto and 35% trails. Im not going to race at first.

Which bike would you choose? Im leaning towards SX150 but im not sure. How bad is the XC 150 2020 on track/moto?

|
1/4/2021 5:32am
All I can say is I’ve been on a 2018 SX150 for two seasons now, and absolutely love it. I race hare scrambles here in the Midwest USA + a handful of practice mx days. I personally always prefer an MX bike with a few ‘woods’ mods over and XC bike. My woods/track ratio is closer to 60/40. So if you’re gonna be on the track more, I think you’ll be happier with the SX.
Jeff_Brines
1/4/2021 6:00am
I'm going to ask a basic question first - why the 150?

I love the 150 platform, but I actually find it harder to ride than a bigger two stroke. While that can be more fun, and the weight of the bike is incredible, its not really beginner friendly IMO unless you just want to "get around". At 176 pounds you aren't exactly light either, and could certainly benefit from more umph.

I feel a much better bike for "do it all' 2 stroke for an entry level rider is going to be the KTM/Husky/GasGas XC/TX/EX 300i

There is a reason this displacement is the best selling two stroke displacement (from the Austrian brand).