Just picked up a 2001 Cr250, things to check?

Grant_m99
Edited Date/Time 11/13/2018 6:21am
Just got into riding and decided on this clean 2001 Cr250. Used to ride when I was a lot younger but this is my first full size bike any advice on things to check and fix? First thing I noticed is a leak where the pipe goes into the motor anything helps just want to make sure I take care of this thing. It runs perfect(really fast lol) I have plenty of experience working on vehicles just never wrenched on bikes.

|
Bramlett321
11/3/2018 5:01pm
On that bike !!!! It’s been ridden a lot I’m sure so the bugs might be worked out but....the jetting in that bike was a booger to work out. V-Force and just ride that sucker, get your suspension dialed for you
pCp 252
Fantasy
2541st
11/3/2018 5:13pm
The front brake hose should be routed on the inside of the fork guard, not on the outside where it’s exposed to being ripped off.

The seal between air boot and air box is notorious for leaks on that generation CR, which can suck in dust and dirt. Take the assembly apart and re-silicon the mating surfaces.

The rear suspension linkage & knuckle bearings may be toast in a bike that old. I would inspect and grease those bearings, replace if necessary. Swingarm, steering head, and upper shock bearing same thing. Make sure to torque those bolts to spec, many times they are cranked too hard and hinder movement.

Suspension likely needs service. Change the oil and bushings/seals on the forks for cheap using YouTube for instructions. The shock you may want to just bring into a local suspension for rebuild. Someone will need to charge it with Nitrogen after assembly, even if you do the shock service yourself.

Fresh Brake fluid and proper bleed can be changed for cheap.

Don’t go too long before rebuilding top end and inspecting the bottom end.
yz133rider
11/3/2018 5:15pm Edited Date/Time 11/3/2018 5:17pm