Dakar 18 The Game! (Edit: New free DLC. Best trails ever!)

flatout111
Edited Date/Time 8/21/2019 6:05am
Just firing up Dakar 18 and, of course,selected Andrew Short. Keefer will be glad to know that Ricky Brabec is also in the game. Smile

Control is pretty limited to just throttle, braking, steering but the game is hard as hell. At least to me it is. In bikes, you have no co-pilot so you must navigate visually by the road book alone and I am still learning about CAPS and positioning as well as warnings and danger zones. Also nice to see that damage is a huge part of the game.

I'm honestly new to Dakar but it's nice to have an off road game with an objective instead of just free riding (which I find boring) and guys, this navigating stuff is no joke and you can tell that the navigation part of it is COMPLETE simulation. I am on Rookie and seriously struggling. It's not about going fast. And it's not about super realistic physics but more about navigation, preserving the vehicle and not getting yourself in trouble such as getting stuck in mud, sand, etc. It's about not getting lost. Lol. A nice change of pace. Just getting started, though so I'm all new to the game as well as the sport.

Here's a pic of Shorty on his Factory Rockstar Husqvarna FR450 Rally bike.

Any one else picking it up?
|
flatout111
9/26/2018 7:38am
Also, not to take a jab at Nordic and Rainbow, but it is weird how nearly EVERYONE....(even a small company like Big Moon)....can get licensed replica bikes and gear in their games (Red Bull, KTM, Honda,Yamaha and Husqvarna) free of charge but Nordic/Rainbow just never does. I don't mind paying for OEM or the excellent RC bike but just kinda saying.

Anyway....back to Dakar. I'm so lost. Lol.
flatout111
9/26/2018 8:34am Edited Date/Time 9/26/2018 8:36am
You can also set it to manual shifting but I'm not even going there yet.