Jett Boots: quality product

MotoGuido
Edited Date/Time 1/25/2012 5:40pm
Just want to plug Jett boots right now! They saved my ankle yesterday!

I've been riding for more than 2 decades now, went away from MX for a few years and alot has changed. In my day everyone was wearing the Astars tech 8, MC had them and they were the hottest boot to have. Flash forward to 2010 and most of my friends my age are still rocking them and swear by them. The main reason I didn't want to get another pair was the break in time, and the irony that I always felt in that once they were broken in, the ankle area was sloppy. That and I wear a size 13 and at that size they are heavy as hell and bulky.

So I was thinking about the Gaerne sg12 because they are quality and they have the hinge. But they are way to bulky as well. Tech 10's have a slim toe but I wasn't into the rest of the feel.

So I saw the Jett boots and with the price it seemed like a no brainer. Ordered a pair and they are awesome! Tons of plastic protection, functioning hinge, slimmest profile, very light.

So I'm at the track last night and the sun is setting, it's getting shadowy. I come down this section where it's two back to back tables in a straight. 1st one is 4th pinned to make it over, second is big but a bit of a coaster cuz the landing goes into a sharp left. I hit the first jump and land into the shadow leading up to jump two, overshot a little bit and landed hard bottoming the bike, put my foot close enough to the ground to get it knocked off by a big rock or braking bump or something. So my left foot goes off the peg, gets run over, stalls the bike, kicks the rear way out to the right, I'm going up the face of this jump sideways. I muscle it back in the air, land it, bumpstarts the bike, pull the clutch in, just in time to go launching off the backside of the burm. I came to a stop and just sat there bewildered. I flexed my ankle back and forth and my knee, etc. to make sure I wasn't in shock.