Is the USA doing suspension all wrong?

RandyS
Edited Date/Time 9/3/2017 7:06am
I may get a ton of shit for this, and I'll admit I'm not the best at setting up suspension. But, some of those jumps today could be classified as "supercrossish". Herlings and Cairollis bikes seemed better even on them. The way MC first soaked up jumps their bikes seemed to do that better than Tomac and Barcia. Like I said, I'm not a suspension expert but from watching I'd guess Herlings, softer spring, more dampening, less rebound. Tomac, stiffer spring, less dampening, similar rebound. Is the Tomac setup just for the whoops, and would Herlings soak them up more where Tomac would skim them? Imagine if Herlings showed up at MEC with that setup and did what he did last week. Have the US teams stuck with settings that may have worked on 2 strokes but maybe aren't the best for four?
|
rmoto003
9/2/2017 5:29pm
Actually Ive been there during some of the suspension tests for these pros. And honestly, yes, the manufacturers are dead set on the settings that applied to bikes from over a decade ago.

It is also an extremely good indication of suspension set-up to watch a rider and see that he is bouncing around a lot. In fact I think its the most scientific method possible. There is no possible way that the rider is just not riding well, its almost ALWAYS some little thing wrong with the bike.

If these damn suspension guys could just listen the the experts here on vital, we would see at least 15 different moto winners every weekend. Until then I guess were just going to have to settle with the standard 4 moto winners
ML512
Fantasy
45th
9/2/2017 5:30pm
RandyS wrote:
I may get a ton of shit for this, and I'll admit I'm not the best at setting up suspension. But, some of those jumps today...