I have a question

Related:
Create New Tag

6/2/2018 7:53 PM

Watching the 250 second moto, I saw Osbornes mechanic start his bike when he was "getting up, or back to his bike". So here is my question. With outside assistance where does the line stand? For today I really don't care. However, I thought a mechanic or anyone for that matter could not help a rider start a bike. In this case it was electric and hardly noticeable. Can mechanics moving forward start say Plessingers bike without repercussion?

|

6/2/2018 8:01 PM

I believe you're allowed to assist downed riders up to the first turn if there's an accident. Other than that no outside assistance is permitted.

|

"Sorry Goose, but it's time to buzz the tower."

6/2/2018 8:02 PM

Zycki11 wrote:

Watching the 250 second moto, I saw Osbornes mechanic start his bike when he was "getting up, or back to his bike". So here is ...more

Good question. Outside help used to be a no-no but rules change so idk.

|

If it ain't yer's don't take it, If it ain't the truth dont say it, If it ain't right don't do it...Marcus Aurelius

6/3/2018 12:06 AM

Maybe it would have been an issue if he actually scored 1 point.

|

6/3/2018 12:13 AM

-MAVERICK- wrote:

I believe you're allowed to assist downed riders up to the first turn if there's an accident. Other than that no outside ...more

I believe you're right, each team is allowed to have one guy in the first turn in the event of a pile up.

|

6/3/2018 4:25 AM
Edited Date/Time: 6/3/2018 4:27 AM

jorgechavez wrote:

I believe you're right, each team is allowed to have one guy in the first turn in the event of a pile up.

Is that in the rule book....?

Oh, it is the ama, dont they write it as they go based on who the rider is?

|

6/3/2018 9:23 AM

jevyguy wrote:

Maybe it would have been an issue if he actually scored 1 point.

Possibly, but the question still stands. Osbourne is just the example at the moment.

|

6/3/2018 9:24 AM

Again, I thought you could have someone help in the first turn pickup the bike. But they were not allowed to start it.

|

6/3/2018 9:28 AM

-MAVERICK- wrote:

I believe you're allowed to assist downed riders up to the first turn if there's an accident. Other than that no outside ...more

jorgechavez wrote:

I believe you're right, each team is allowed to have one guy in the first turn in the event of a pile up.

JustMX wrote:

Is that in the rule book....?

Oh, it is the ama, dont they write it as they go based on who the rider is?

The ama has nothing to do with pro racing. Please refer all questions to MXSports.

|

6/3/2018 9:58 AM

jevyguy wrote:

Maybe it would have been an issue if he actually scored 1 point.

He did score 1 point.

|

6/3/2018 4:36 PM

-MAVERICK- wrote:

I believe you're allowed to assist downed riders up to the first turn if there's an accident. Other than that no outside ...more

I am fairly certain this is correct. I know that someone is allowed to help the rider as long as they aren't beyond the first turn. Not certain on the part of starting it but I think anything goes in the first turn. As others have stated, it's also whatever the AMA feels depending on who said rider is. After they're beyond the first corner they aren't allowed any team help though

|

6/3/2018 4:43 PM

jevyguy wrote:

Maybe it would have been an issue if he actually scored 1 point.

stremme12 wrote:

He did score 1 point.

You’re right. I thought I saw him in the 22 spot but maybe he passed 2 guys on the last lap after they showed the leaderboard

|