How can you volunteer to be a flagger?

CozMan
4/1/2019 6:36am Edited Date/Time 4/1/2019 9:04pm
was just curious while watching the races Saturday - where are these guys signing up to be flaggers? Surely someone on here knows...
|
40acres
4/1/2019 7:14am Edited Date/Time 4/1/2019 7:14am
I am pretty sure I know why you're asking, but I just want to be sure before I divulge...

Why?
CozMan
4/1/2019 7:18am
40acres wrote:
I am pretty sure I know why you're asking, but I just want to be sure before I divulge...

Why?
no reason other than simply curiosity.
4/1/2019 7:37am
I remember for the 2005 Houston SX, the parts guy at my local shop said one of the vendor reps asked if he had anyone that wanted to volunteer to sweep the dirt off of the tuff blocks between races. Me and a friend got to do it. McGrath was there and not racing and I got to talk to him in the tunnel for a few minutes. Pretty awesome.
4/1/2019 8:21am
I have been flagging since 1990 at Houston. They asked our club, TRH (Trail Riders of Houston) to provide flaggers. I basically did it because I liked to be on the track. They also gave us each 2 tickets in Industry Seating. This year, we were all Feld employees for the weekend, and got paid. My job for the past 5 years, has been to pull the barricades out after the start for the mechanics to stand behind.

The Shop

GuyB
Fantasy
1315th
4/1/2019 3:18pm
I checked, and if you contact Feld, your information will get sent to the head flag coordinator. But note that every spot for every venue has already been filled through the rest of the season.
Johnny Depp
4/1/2019 4:05pm
GuyB wrote:
I checked, and if you contact Feld, your information will get sent to the head flag coordinator. But note that every spot for every venue has...
I checked, and if you contact Feld, your information will get sent to the head flag coordinator. But note that every spot for every venue has already been filled through the rest of the season.