Hour many hours is too much?

Related:
Create New Tag

7/12/2018 10:56 PM

Let me start by saying I'm super OCD with my bikes and I keep them in perfect shape. I'm in the market for a new (used) bike and I want your opinion on what hours are high. I'm a novice level MX rider, decent offroad. Would the 60-90 range put you off of a 2017 KTM or Husky 250 2 stroke? How about 50 on a 2017 350? Of course all the bikes are vet ridden mx only like every ad says. They look close to mint and the extras leave me to believe the sellers have some money to burn. What say you Vital?

|

Care Factor Zero

7/13/2018 12:14 AM

I wouldnt say there is a number of hours that is "too much", just depends if the bike has been maintained properly during that time. I just bought a 2017 350 a month back with 50 hours on it with no engine work yet and it's running perfect, although i'll be doing a piston soon to be safe

|

7/13/2018 12:33 AM

Condition is more important. Hours mean nothing.

|

7/13/2018 1:24 AM

I think the condition and price play a big part rather than just hours. as its hard to tell how good the previous owner was at maintenance.

I bought a 2018 250 sxf with 60 hard hours at the start of the year, was a bit rough around the edges but was reflected in the price with it being almost half the price of a new one. So I can also go through the motor and get the suspension done for the same price as a low hour one with an unknown history would have cost me.

So I think you gotta weigh up the hours vs price as sometimes the low hour bikes can have too much of a premium on them.

|

7/13/2018 1:26 AM

Most important thing is how hard the bike was ridden. I would never buy an A rider‘s bike, no matter how good its condition is

|

7/13/2018 1:28 AM

GaryC1 wrote: