Help me get comfortable!

i3oykin
Edited Date/Time 1/12/2016 8:29pm
I am a tall rider (6 foot 4 inches). I have had trouble since I started riding getting comfortable on any bike I have ridden.

I own a 2005 Yz250, and realized early on that I hated the forks, so I swapped them for SSS forks off an 07.
Then I put some Renthal RC high bend bars on it, felt a LITTLE more comfortable... So I tried some bar risers, now I feel like the bike will not turn, at all. It is very annoying, I am slightly more comfortable but at the cost of not being able to turn, I need to be able to do that lol!

So I decided to get a Yz125 after riding my buddies. It is all stock, in terms of ergonomics. The bike turns way better (stock bars). But I feel super awkward standing up. I am knees bent, super crouched over looking like the hunchback of Notre Damn.

So now I mainly feel like it is really hard for me to comfortable stand into a jump and it is hard for me to utilize the rear brake unless I am super far on the back of the bike. I also feel that my arms are pointed down when standing.
I like how the tall bars and risers feel standing but in a corner they make the bike feel atrocious!

I have only been riding for less than a year, and I started riding motocross in July. I ride all the SoCal tracks and have talked to a few taller guys I have seen but they weren't all that helpful in terms of proper technique.

So, my question is, how can I change my riding style/technique or learn the proper ways and get comfortable on my bike. I know that if I can feel more comfortable I would be able to ride way better, or at the least think I was! I want to improve, I need to be able to utilize my rear brake without taking my foot off the peg and loosing control of the bike. I need to be able to stand into and off jumps. This is a sport that I know I need to be standing a majority of the time and I want to make good habits and feel comfortable so that I can learn the proper techniques.