Heart rates

motomike894
Edited Date/Time 1/19/2021 5:20am
I have been working on consistently again for the past 6-8 weeks.

What I am wondering is my heart rate never gets super high, even when I try to get it to, or when riding, all of my friends that are in ten times better shape then me get theirs way higher easier.

I am on blood pressure meds so I wonder if that is affecting it ?

Wondering if anyone has the same issue ?

I can ride my road bike on the trainer for 45 minutes and it takes me about ten to get it in the 120's to 130 where I try to stay for most of that time, then usually last 2-3 minutes ill go WFO and I can get it to like 160-165 before my legs are total jello and Im hyperventialting.

I am 5'11" and 320 lbs right now and 39 years old.

None of my buddies believe me and say my monitor must be bad, but I have a new chest strap and new battery in monitor it works great.
|
Hank_Thrill
1/13/2021 8:30am
I'm no doctor, but blood pressure meds will definitely keep your heart rate lower from my experience. Long story, but I was prescribed some once and my heart rate would not get out of the 140s and I felt lethargic cycling.
FGR01
Fantasy
1222nd
1/13/2021 8:35am
No doctor here either, but a pretty avid cyclist for a good little while. I'd say looking at or worrying about your max HR or playing in the upper revs should not be in your program quite yet. Seems you need to get a lot of easy time and miles under you working in the Z1-Z3 range and establishing a nice cardio base before you start blipping the throttle hard. Sometimes it's hard to hold ourselves back and keep the big picture in mind.
Falcon
Fantasy
798th
1/13/2021 8:47am
Talk to your doctor about exercise. Don't listen to us yahoos on Vital about your heart! Woohoo