Head games- crashes

Jimpilot27
Fantasy
4179th
So I am a 55 year old novice rider, and I love the sport. I have been going to tracks for a year now, and I see some improvement. I have also had a few narly crashes. This Sunday, I doubled and singled a triple, and a guy landed on me. It was my fault, and luckily neither one of us was injured too bad. Later in the day, I saw 2 guys go over the handle bars on a long table top, and they got jacked up pretty bad. How do I get that shit out my head, and push forward with learning the sport that I love?
|
Richy
8/22/2022 12:45pm Edited Date/Time 8/22/2022 12:46pm
Maybe tone down the jumps a little until it's out of your head on its own.

Work on technique for a bit without worry about speed or clearing everything, ride within your comfort zone and don't push your luck until you're settled and out of your head. Keeping building up the skill, comfort, familiarity, blah blah. Challenging yourself is good, riding above your head isn't - not saying you were, just generally.

I'm no expert, not even a little bit, but that's kinda where I'm at and besides a couple of sprains and bruises which I couldn't care less about I've been ok since taking it up again, albeit still slow and sketchy.
kNewc
8/22/2022 12:56pm
Jimpilot27 wrote:
So I am a 55 year old novice rider, and I love the sport. I have been going to tracks for a year now, and I...
So I am a 55 year old novice rider, and I love the sport. I have been going to tracks for a year now, and I see some improvement. I have also had a few narly crashes. This Sunday, I doubled and singled a triple, and a guy landed on me. It was my fault, and luckily neither one of us was injured too bad. Later in the day, I saw 2 guys go over the handle bars on a long table top, and they got jacked up pretty bad. How do I get that shit out my head, and push forward with learning the sport that I love?