First race(s). Man that was fun! With videos.

Matt Fisher
Fantasy
1117th
I've been riding dirtbikes for almost 40 years and recently decided to start racing. Growing up I was dodging trees in NorCal, and the move down to the Central Valley with it's desert and track riding was rather foreign to me. I took a hiatus from riding for a few years and recently decided to pick it back up (couldn't pass up a deal on a CR500- but that was too much bike for me on a track). So here's the second moto of my first race; beginner class 45+ with the Over The Hill Gang. The first moto I holeshot and walked away with the win, but didn't hit the start button on my GoPro. Amusingly, I holeshot with a first gear start- second moto I tried second gear....

Yes, I'm painfully slow (but gawd it feels sooo much faster when I'm on the bike).

A couple weeks after this race (which was part of my evaluations and they rightfully bumped me into the Novice class), the OTHG was running a two day national. Hey, perfect for a newbie!

Last lap was such a bummer. Arm pump was killing me and I lost three positions. Yes I was a bit "hot" on that first lap...

Second moto, first day. I tried using earplugs specifically after reading a Vital thread- much better. Hey, I brought the Vital community with me to the race.

First moto on the second day did not record. I stalled off the line just like in the first race video. Caught up to last place and stalled it in a tight right hand corner. Evidently a walking pace through the inside rut in second gear doesn't work. Got it refired and chased down four guys, the last pass taking place in the corner before the finish line!!