Engineering Data for Dirt Bikes?

m121c
Edited Date/Time 10/24/2015 3:29am
I wasn't sure where to post this, but it's some what moto related so I guess I put it here in hopes of catching the right attention? Anyways, apologies if it's wrong place, new to this forum.

Im a 19 year old that is pursing in making a career as a CAD Designer, or related title. Basically I'm really into engineering and 3d modeling. I have a lot of experience with CAD and pretty much self taught for the most part besides a few AP classes.

Now anything can be modeled but you need the measurements and data to do so. My question is where do these teams and companies obtain their data in order to accurately manufacturer aftermarket products? Do/can they purchase it from the manufacturer? Wish I would could have thought of this question when Jeremy Albrecht was the vital member of the week... now I'm sure JGR with Yamaha support can get any data they want from them, wouldn't even surprise me if they had the engineered CAD models straight from Yamaha. But how do the aftermarket companies get their specs?

Reverse engineering? Purchase it? I mean if you have a set of stock triple clamps I suppose you could 3D Scan it and get a accurate set of data off of it, but that's not cheap at all. You could measure it, but that increases the probability of human error right?

I was wanting to make some moto-related parts for a resume builder and just further my experience with CAD. For instance a set of triple clamps, obviously it's easy to know the fork diameter but how do I know the distance center to center of the forks? Or accurate data of the steering stem? I'm sure the actual manufacturing tolerances for anything dealing with the chassis is tight, so manually measuring something seems unrealistic to me.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!
|
GuyB
Fantasy
988th
10/21/2015 12:17pm