Disability insurance for a dental student

chip341
Hello, excuse my ignorance if this topic already has a thread. I'm new to this site and still figuring it out. I'm a 4th year dental student about to graduate with a boatload of debt. I grew up riding and racing and have hopes of continuing riding. I am curious what companies out there offer good own occupation insurance plans. (Hopefully i will never need it)
Thanks in advance
|
davermz450
2/23/2021 6:11am
I am a dentist and ride. One of the questions is something like, "do you RACE motorcycles, skydive or fly planes". I ride but I dont race so I answered no. I have guardian and 2 years after I graduated I crashed hard and broke both my legs and neck. I was able to use my benefits. I hate insurance but I have to give credit to guardian for making it a pretty easy process. Feel free to reach out if you want to chat more dreccker@gmail.com
mx 219
Fantasy
857th
2/23/2021 6:35am Edited Date/Time 2/23/2021 6:36am
davermz450 wrote:
I am a dentist and ride. One of the questions is something like, "do you RACE motorcycles, skydive or fly planes". I ride but I dont...
I am a dentist and ride. One of the questions is something like, "do you RACE motorcycles, skydive or fly planes". I ride but I dont race so I answered no. I have guardian and 2 years after I graduated I crashed hard and broke both my legs and neck. I was able to use my benefits. I hate insurance but I have to give credit to guardian for making it a pretty easy process. Feel free to reach out if you want to chat more dreccker@gmail.com
I just got an additional 500k insurance policy last Spring. When I was asked about that question with skydiving, flying, or racing motorcycles I questioned the race part and they asked if I race professionally, which I obviously do not LOL

I can't say that is the case for every insurance company, but that was AIG's criteria in determining whether I race motorcycles or not.
deadlo
2/23/2021 7:14am
chip341 wrote: