Dirt Wars 11 (Go Pro)

zookrider62!
Fantasy
583rd
Edited Date/Time 10/12/2015 8:37am
After reading about these races here on Vital (http://www.vitalmx.com/forums/Moto-Related,20/Crazy-racing-action-at-th…) and my friends telling me what a blast these races are, I decided to give it a try

I have no flat track experience and not really much pit bike experience either. That being the case I had no clue how these races would go

For those unfamiliar with this event, here is a short break down of classes
Mad Pup (Youth Bring Your On Bike)
Dirt Wars Amateur (amateur class using borrowed bikes from the event)
Dirt Wars Pro (Pro-Class using borrowed bikes from the event)
Mad Dog Amateur (BYOB - Amateur)
Mad Dog Pro (BYOB - PRO)

Even though it sounds like a relatively short amount of classes, there are still quite a few races they ran through. With the Dirt Wars class being on loaner bikes, there are 8 bikes set up to be ridden (with some back-ups)

For my class Dirt Wars Amateur, I would get 4 practices (4 laps each), followed by 3 Heat Races, and a Main Event (depending on results)

In the first practice I felt GOOD, really felt like I had a grasp on what to do and felt like i was moving. 2nd practice and all of that good feeling went away, got passed left and right and just couldn't get a feel for it. Practice 3 and 4 were going pretty much the same and I was quickly losing confidence in the race

Heat Races
There are only 3/4 people in each heat race, so the way the system works, you should race different people in each heat, and riding a different bike for each heat.

Heat 1
Didn't do to well, 2 of the guys in the class were quite a bit faster than me, ended up 3rd

Heat 2
On one of the opening laps, I tangled with another rider and went down. I was able to get up before him, but it would be another 3rd for me

Heat 3