Did Tomac get his wheels up under red cross flag in LCQ?

Related:
Create New Tag

1/13/2019 7:01 AM

I don't have tevo so couldn't replay it, but it looked he like screwed up under that red cross flag in LCQ. Even after the section he kept looking back, like he was kind of freaking out.

If so and he had been penalized, he might not have made the main.

|

1/13/2019 7:35 AM
Edited Date/Time: 1/13/2019 8:06 AM

Here we go.

I can frame this one of two ways, and will get flamed no matter what I do - so here are two contradicting posts....

(Edit: did all this from my phone laying in bed - sorry for the formatting and multiple posts)

|

Washed up moto and enduro weekend warrior.

1/13/2019 7:37 AM
Edited Date/Time: 1/13/2019 7:49 AM

Tomac jumped on the red cross flag.

Here is proof

Photo

Photo

Photo

Photo

|

Washed up moto and enduro weekend warrior.

1/13/2019 7:37 AM
Edited Date/Time: 1/13/2019 7:59 AM

Scenario 2:

Tomac has no lead in time to see the flagger - and the flag was not fully waived for the first time until he was on the takeoff.

Photo
Photo
Photo
Photo
Photo


Photo
Photo
Photo
Photo

|

Washed up moto and enduro weekend warrior.

1/13/2019 7:41 AM

Looked liked he jumped up on to the table as he went past the first Red Cross flag?
If you count a table top as two jumps like some people in here seem to do (I don’t), you could argue he also doubled a jump in the middle of the section.

|

1/13/2019 7:50 AM
Edited Date/Time: 1/13/2019 8:04 AM


Scenario 3:

Tomac could not prevent the first jump on the Red Cross as shown in scenario 2..... but after checking up upon seeing the flags - still had his wheels leave the ground over the table:


Photo
Photo
Photo
Photo


ITS AT THIS POINT HE LOCKS UP THE BRAKES

Photo
Photo
Photo
Photo

|

Washed up moto and enduro weekend warrior.

1/13/2019 7:56 AM

When Dungey jumped on a Red Cross flag they docked him 2 spots. With that penalty Tomac would have gotten the second to last gate pick in the main rather than 4th to last pick. I was expecting to hear this before the start of the main. It was weird they had a Red Cross flag that early in the section, though.

|

1/13/2019 8:00 AM
Edited Date/Time: 1/13/2019 6:46 PM

They got Anderson on it last year...which made him lose a race...and the triple crown.

|

Tomac and/or Anderson for 2020.....

1/13/2019 8:02 AM

Red cross was after the jump, the end.

|

1/13/2019 8:09 AM

slipdog wrote:

Red cross was after the jump, the end.

On the first one, absolutely. What about his wheels leaving on the second one between the two flags?

|

Washed up moto and enduro weekend warrior.

1/13/2019 8:10 AM

They also apparently docked Pellegrini - anyone see if his was in this same section?

|

Washed up moto and enduro weekend warrior.

1/13/2019 8:11 AM

MxKing809 - thanks for the breakdown bro. That's really helpful

|

1/13/2019 8:21 AM

Accept and move on.

|

1/13/2019 8:25 AM

slipdog wrote:

Red cross was after the jump, the end.

MxKing809 wrote:

On the first one, absolutely. What about his wheels leaving on the second one between the two flags?

Didn't see the last set earlier, did you add more pics with your edits? Anyhoo, looks to me like(maybe) he jumped on the table and saw the flags mid jump. At that point, he doesn't commit to hopping on to the next one like normal and drops into the valley between. the next table is the jump in question I believe, but with the speed of jumping table to table, I'm thinking maybe his momentum bounced him up in the air. He definitely tried to slow or he would've just stayed on it and gone table to table.

My view, but I am a bit of a Tomac fan wink

|

1/13/2019 8:30 AM

And in other news, the average temperature of the earth increased .00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000001 degrees last year.

|

1/13/2019 8:45 AM

BobPA wrote:

They got Anderson on it last year...which made him lose a race...and the triple crown.

Rockstar athlete.

Tomac is a Monster athlete. RV has done questionable things in the past as well and they let it slide.

|

"Sorry Goose, but it's time to buzz the tower."

1/13/2019 9:36 AM

Nobody talking about how the start layout clearly caused foreseeable problems.

|

1/13/2019 9:39 AM

731chopper wrote:

When Dungey jumped on a Red Cross flag they docked him 2 spots. With that penalty Tomac would have gotten the second to last gate pick in the main rather than 4th to last pick. I was expecting to hear this before the start of the main. It was weird they had a Red Cross flag that early in the section, though.

He still somehow got the third from the inside gate and I’m still trying to figure out how. He got a bad jump too and if he were outside he’d have started nearly last.

|

1/13/2019 9:41 AM

I think he should have been docked but there’s also the argument that the jump he took off from was prior to the Red Cross and therefore he didn’t break the rules. I’d need a better angle to be able to see when it started waving and whatnot before I’d be confident handing out a penalty.

|

1/13/2019 9:43 AM

He shut it down as good as he possibly could. He gained no advantage.

|

1/13/2019 10:04 AM
Edited Date/Time: 1/13/2019 10:06 AM

BobPA wrote:

They got Anderson on it last year...which made him lose a race...and the triple crown.

-MAVERICK- wrote:

Rockstar athlete.

Tomac is a Monster athlete. RV has done questionable things in the past as well and they let it slide.

Way to keep the facts straight here boys. Anderson getting docked in Minneapolis had nothing to do with a Red Cross flag, it was because he accelerated down the side of the track.

But as usual it's easier to just forego the facts and fill in the blanks with whatever to fit your narrative. It's not like a Monster Energy sponsored rider has never received a penalty before.

|

1/13/2019 6:41 PM

BobPA wrote:

They got Anderson on it last year...which made him lose a race...and the triple crown.

-MAVERICK- wrote:

Rockstar athlete.

Tomac is a Monster athlete. RV has done questionable things in the past as well and they let it slide.

jorgechavez wrote:

Way to keep the facts straight here boys. Anderson getting docked in Minneapolis had nothing to do with a Red Cross flag, it was because he accelerated down the side of the track.

But as usual it's easier to just forego the facts and fill in the blanks with whatever to fit your narrative. It's not like a Monster Energy sponsored rider has never received a penalty before.

How dare you question what vital numbers say! ??

|

1/13/2019 7:30 PM

BobPA wrote:

They got Anderson on it last year...which made him lose a race...and the triple crown.

-MAVERICK- wrote:

Rockstar athlete.

Tomac is a Monster athlete. RV has done questionable things in the past as well and they let it slide.

Yep Monster Athlete bonus plan

|

1/13/2019 7:35 PM

milliebays wrote:

Nobody talking about how the start layout clearly caused foreseeable problems.

There's a whole thread on it.

I'll say I take the layout we got over a simpler layout because "flagging could be trickier than normal".

|

1/13/2019 8:02 PM

MxKing809 wrote:

They also apparently docked Pellegrini - anyone see if his was in this same section?

Aaah there it is, was wondering why he did not line up for the main event

|