Custom clutch cover engraving

p3fab
11/30/2017 2:16pm Edited Date/Time 1/15/2019 3:43pm
Hey guys long time reader of the site that needs some advice. I am currently in the process of starting a small maching business that specializes in custom engraving. I have 11+ years of experience In the machine and molding industry and have done a few covers already. The main idea would be to have covers sent to me I would sandblast powder coat to color of choice (I prefer textures black) and engrave names, numbers or logos. I would also do machining in new after market covers. Anything which licesing allows. I can post pictures of examples I have done. I’m really looking for a reasonable price range for options like this. I believe in doing more at a lower price vs. a few and making more. What would people be willing to pay for something like this?

|
Acidreamer
11/30/2017 2:25pm
Youre looking at it wrong. You need to look at how much it costs per hour for you to design the cover, program the engraver, and machine time.

If it takes 4 hours to do 1 cover @ $25/hr then $100 would be the cost.

What you have shown looks like simple text. Probably took you 20 mins prior to machining. Maybe less. For a simple job like that maybe $70.

If you were to machine a full size ktm logo it would obviously take a lot more machine time to clear the interior of the logo.

p3fab
11/30/2017 2:41pm
That has been a thought as of now it would take me a little longer for new ones I haven’t done more due to set up. Once I have jigs for most made it would take less time and I’m not about a customer paying for r and d. I would probably have to vary depending on the project size. I have done names that were fully machined ( not just outlines) depending on cutter size it doesn’t take much longer. Really just looking for a base line. Thanks for your input much appreciated!
seth505
Fantasy
1048th
11/30/2017 3:06pm
Acidreamer wrote: