Concept: Vital Forums Facelift

TannerMxer
Edited Date/Time 9/27/2017 8:59pm
Hey everyone. I am a digital designer (designed the latest pulpmx app) and I made this concept a few months ago after growing tired of the old vital forums. While they work, they are ugly af.

Click to view larger:

I just wanted to update the visual hierarchy to make it easier to follow quoting and original posts. I also wanted to add in the like/dislike functionality, which I think can reduce the amount of posts made in a thread but still ensure engagement.

I did not add, but think being able to @ someone would be awesome too.
|
BobPA
9/26/2017 9:52am
I wish they would go to a vBulletin style board. That way you could actually receive PM's and have a few other nice features....
moto282
9/26/2017 9:57am
BobPA wrote:
I wish they would go to a vBulletin style board. That way you could actually receive PM's and have a few other nice features....
Agree. And there are templates/themes to look like the design above too.
HenryA
9/26/2017 10:03am
Looks great but I've seen so many message boards that has died out after a design/layout change.
Is it worth the risk?Unsure
-MAVERICK-
Fantasy
3739th
9/26/2017 10:05am
I like that you added the likes and dislikes option.

The Shop

TannerMxer
9/26/2017 10:09am
HenryA wrote:
Looks great but I've seen so many message boards that has died out after a design/layout change.
Exactly. That's why I didn't stray too far, but added some visual hierarchy and new functionality that doesn't take away the stuff that already exists.

To be honest, I know this board and its users would jump ship if a brand new, completely different design went into place. I mostly just restructured the information.
GuyB
Fantasy
1215th
9/26/2017 10:26am
TannerMxer wrote:
Exactly. That's why I didn't stray too far, but added some visual hierarchy and new functionality that doesn't take away the stuff that already exists. To...