CTI Custom or POD K8 Knee Braces?

tk2stroke
Coming back after ACL surgery and Insurance (woohoo) is paying for 100% of my braces and I have the option of either the custom CTI's or Pod K8's braces. The POD braces have always served me well, but the idea of getting custom braces is appealing.

How do they compare in terms of fit and durability to one another, has anyone had both? What are the downsides with the CTI's?
|
CarlinoJoeVideo
Fantasy
2361st
1/17/2019 8:35am
I've been running CTI's for maybe 4 years now. They offer a referb program, I send them in every 2 seasons and come back like new. Still fit like a glove.
50dippin
1/17/2019 8:42am Edited Date/Time 1/17/2019 9:25am
I didn't like the pods because there is no depth adjustment, the hinge sits too far forward of my knee joint. Also, I'm not sold on the ligament hinge system. My knee already has ligaments, which tear, that's why I want a knee brace that doesn't allow for that movement. I would just make sure you can try on a pair first, I tried on 3 sizes and couldn't find any that fit my messed up knees.

I also tried on the mobius braces and to me they were the most comfortable, but again I couldn't get them to fit correctly. My knee wouldn't fit into a medium and the tendon back plate wasn't tight enough on the back of my thigh in a large.

I had a cti years ago and it worked great but had limited protection. I think I may try an asterisk next, but none of my dealers carry one so I may just have to order them and see.
mxbrian15
1/17/2019 9:49am
I've gone through a ton of knee braces over the years. Currently have custom DonJoys. The Pods are the best off the self knee braces in my opinion.
ACBraap
Fantasy
564th
1/17/2019 10:01am
I've been running CTI's for maybe 4 years now. They offer a referb program, I send them in every 2 seasons and come back like new...