CRF450RX BROKE! Need some help

MotoCoUSA
8/5/2018 1:02pm Edited Date/Time 10/15/2018 3:13am
Alright guys I need some help from the community here. I have a 2017 CRF450RX and the two points where the linkage connects to the frame snapped clean off today after landing. I have insurance on the thing and I also have a warranty but the dealership is closed today and the warranty people apparently don't work sundays either. I emailed Honda and plan on calling them tomorrow, but I have no experience with this sort of thing. Warranty says 'protects against mechanical failure' and Im not sure if that falls under it. I just recently re-packed everything with grease, and the bolts on the pull rods are perfectly in tact. I'm at a loss as to how this happened other than something wrong with the frame itself? Anyone with experience in this situation with advice I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks. Pics to follow.

|
Motofinne
8/5/2018 1:04pm
We've seen that exact thing happen to multiple 2017 CRF450:s. Honda will probably give you a new frame.

I think there are threads on Vital about other people that had this problem.
Lastander
8/5/2018 1:07pm
Yup happened to a friend of mine, new framme in a week or two
BR8ES
8/5/2018 1:07pm
hopefully they don't move at a snail's pace and good will it. Not the first one that has happened.
plowboy
8/5/2018 1:08pm
Hmmm, that's ugly but since you already publicly admitted to removing, greasing, and reinstalling these bolts...I'd figure it's gonna be hard to prove you didn't cause this. Not what you want to hear but....I wish you luck.

The Shop

MotoCoUSA
8/5/2018 1:13pm
Lastander wrote:
Yup happened to a friend of mine, new framme in a week or two
How did he go about doing that?
MotoCoUSA
8/5/2018 1:14pm
plowboy wrote:
Hmmm, that's ugly but since you already publicly admitted to removing, greasing, and reinstalling these bolts...I'd figure it's gonna be hard to prove you didn't cause...