CRF450RX BROKE! Need some help

Related:
Create New Tag

8/5/2018 1:02 PM

Alright guys I need some help from the community here. I have a 2017 CRF450RX and the two points where the linkage connects to the frame snapped clean off today after landing. I have insurance on the thing and I also have a warranty but the dealership is closed today and the warranty people apparently don't work sundays either. I emailed Honda and plan on calling them tomorrow, but I have no experience with this sort of thing. Warranty says 'protects against mechanical failure' and Im not sure if that falls under it. I just recently re-packed everything with grease, and the bolts on the pull rods are perfectly in tact. I'm at a loss as to how this happened other than something wrong with the frame itself? Anyone with experience in this situation with advice I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks. Pics to follow. Photo
Photo

|

8/5/2018 1:04 PM

We've seen that exact thing happen to multiple 2017 CRF450:s. Honda will probably give you a new frame.

I think there are threads on Vital about other people that had this problem.

|

8/5/2018 1:07 PM

Yup happened to a friend of mine, new framme in a week or two

|

8/5/2018 1:07 PM

hopefully they don't move at a snail's pace and good will it. Not the first one that has happened.

|

vomiting equals disqualification.

8/5/2018 1:08 PM

Hmmm, that's ugly but since you already publicly admitted to removing, greasing, and reinstalling these bolts...I'd figure it's gonna be hard to prove you didn't cause this. Not what you want to hear but....I wish you luck.

|

If it ain't yer's don't take it, If it ain't the truth dont say it, If it ain't right don't do it...Marcus Aurelius

8/5/2018 1:13 PM

Lastander wrote:

Yup happened to a friend of mine, new framme in a week or two

How did he go about doing that?

|

8/5/2018 1:14 PM

plowboy wrote: